BIOL 304: Biology Skills

Comprehensive scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database. It contains both scholarly and non-scholarly content. Use the limiters on the left to select which you want.

Abstracts of a wide variety of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Use to locate research articles in biology, can be searched together with Web of Science

Search more than a dozen databases relevant to environmental studies at once. Note: Use the filter on the left of the results page to remove non-scholarly sources.

Coverage of core journals in all areas of science. Easy to use, designed for the non-specialist. Full-text for selected periodicals.

PubMed is the go-to source for biomedical & health sciences research. Use Get it @ VCU to go through the library to access subscription (non-free) articles.

Citation database of scholarly literature covering all scientific disciplines.

Online encyclopedia of science, mathematics and technology.

Information and pictures of all species known to science.

Image rich dynamic resource, representing the 17 volume standard print Encyclopedia of Animal Life. More than 4,000 species covering the entire Animal Kingdom. Authoritative peer reviewed content.

Encyclopedia of information about plants and botany

Online textbook of select concepts in biology, especially as they relate to topics that frequently appear in the news

Textbooks similar to or that could supplement the standard introductory biology textbook