Welcome!
This guide provides an overview of how to locate and use items in the VCU Comic Arts Collection.
Quick Info
Special Collections & Archives
Location: 4th floor, Cabell Library
Hours: Monday - Friday 10am - 5pm
Phone: 804.828.1108
Please no food or drink.
Instructors: Classes are welcome. Please call for details. One week notice is required.
Ask Us

VCU Libraries Comic Arts Collection
The VCU Libraries' Comic Arts Collection, housed in Special Collections and Archives, consists of over 100,000 items, including over 40,000 comic books along with graphic novels, editorial cartoons, comic strips, memorabilia, comic journals, fanzines and a broad array of reference materials. In addition to the growing, comprehensive collections for the study of comic arts, VCU Libraries is the repository for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards Archives.
The Comic Arts Collection began in the 1970s with the donation of a modest comic book collection and the papers of a noted Richmond newspaper editorial cartoonist. The collection then grew with the help of numerous donors - especially that of Dr. M. Thomas Inge, an expert on the history of popular culture and the comic arts. For over 30 years, Dr. Inge has donated time and resources to the advancement of the collection.
Today, the collection includes over 40,000 comic books dating primarily from the 1960s through today (though we have many before 1960 as well); the papers and drawings of political cartoonist Fred O. Seibel and Charles Henry "Bill" Sykes; Billy De Beck's personal library and the door to his studio apartment, featuring an original painting of his famous characters Barney Google and Sparkplug; a number of set design paintings from the 1960s Batman television show and movie; an extensive collection of fanzines; and many other materials.
What is Comic Art?
Comic Art, also referred to as sequential art or graphic storytelling, is a form of visual art that combines images with text, most often in the form of a word balloon.
- Comic strip: A short sequence of drawings, usually telling a story. Most commonly found in newspapers and magazines.
- Comic book: A magazine or a book containing sequential art in the form of a narrative.
- Graphic novel: A long-form comic book, usually with lengthy and complex storylines. Graphic novels can be either a collection of previously published comic books, commonly referred to as trade paperbacks, or comics created and published as a single narrative.
Profile |
Contact Info Special Collections & Archives James Branch Cabell Library 901 Park Ave Box 842033 Richmond, VA 23284-2033 Send Email Subjects: Comic Arts Job Title: Archival Asst. for Comic Arts |

Loading...
