Welcome!
Welcome to the Education Research Guide, where you'll find a variety of library resources to support your research in Education.
Ask Us

New Resource - Education on Video

Designed specifically for training and developing teachers. Videos include teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
THE Education Databases
ERIC and Education Research Complete are THE places to start your research.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterCitations and abstracts from the world's largest education database, 1966-present. More than 1.2 million records. Produced by the Department of Education. VCU Libraries provides three versions: one from the Department of Education; and two from vendors (ProQuest and FirstSearch). While the content is essentially the same, the interfaces are different. Since the version from the Department of Education will be available to you after you leave VCU, that is the version used in library instruction.
NOTE: Click on Find in a Library to reach the Get it @ VCU button. - Education Research CompleteComprehensive full-text database of core education journals. Most have complete run indexing, i.e., from v1 n1, with extensive full-text coverage for many. A necessary complement to ERIC, especially for newer articles.
Graduate Students
Three collections of library instruction resources on Blackboard are designed for you.
EDUS 660: Library Instruction - Focused on the basic processes appropriate for use in education research
Education Doctoral Students: Library Instruction - Focused on the processes appropriate for doctoral research in education
RefWorks Workshop - "How to" use RefWorks, a Web-based citation management/organization tool
To self-enroll (if you want the course name listed in your Blackboard account):
- Open Blackboard
- Log into your Blackboard account
- Select the Courses tab
- Type one of the course names above into the "Course Search" box, e.g. edus 660; education doctoral; or refworks, and select "Go"
- Click on the chevron [Menu Options:Course ID] and then on ENROLL
- On the Self Enrollment page, select SUBMIT
My Profile |
Contact Info James Branch Cabell Library Room 111h 804-828-9049 Call, chat, stop by, or request a meeting. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
