This is the "Home" page of the "Health and Wellness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Wellness   Tags: consumer_health, medicine, nursing, subject  

These consumer health links provide access to a wide range of health and medical information available on the Internet. They do not give medical advice or interpretation, and the information is not a substitute for consultation with your health care profe
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.vcu.edu/health Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Consumer Health Information Guide. This guide highlights resources that provide access to a wide range of health and medical information available on the Internet. They do not give medical advice or interpretation, and the information is not a substitute for consultation with your health care professional. Any linking to commercial sites does not imply endorsement of products, services, or content.

See Guide to Healthy Web Surfing from the National Library of Medicine.

Ask Us!

TMLTompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences

Call: 804-828-0636
Toll-free: 1-866-VCU-BOOK
Fax: (804) 828-6089

 

509 North 12th Street
PO Box 980582
Richmond, VA 23298-0582

Spacer

Best Bets

  • MedllinePlus
    Extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
  • Healthfinder.gov
    A government provided website with links to health information and tools from a variety of health organizations. The site also contains age appropriate information for children.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Patient information covering all areas of health and wellness. Includes full-text books, journals, reports, pamphlets and drug information sheets. Videos, images, diagrams and animations are also included.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    Consumer health information from 80 full-text magazines, 130 health reference books and health-related pamphlets. Also includes drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
  • FamilyDoctor.org
    From the American Academy of Family Physicians, this site provides patients with easy to understand health information. The site also contains a medical dictionary, health calculators, and interactive health tools.
  • MedicineNet.com
    Part of the WebMD network, this site provides authoritative consumer health information on a wide variety of health topics.

Profile

Profile Image
Dana Ladd
Contact Info
Community Health Education Center
Gateway Building Ground Floor
804-628-2429
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip