This guide will help you with industry research. The course of your research will vary depending on the specific industry, but the sources here cover most industries. If you have any questions, please contact me or schedule a consultation.
NAICS, or the North American Industry Classification System, is often
used to describe industries in reports and databases. You can look up
NAICS codes at the Census Bureau Website.
A print copy of the North American Industry Classification System (2007) is also available at the Cabell Library Reference Desk.
Reports for 723 U.S. industries categorized by NAICS. Includes market size, competitors, forecasting, business valuations, benchmarking. Includes business environment and global industry reports. For reports from China, look for the China Site link.
- Business Source Complete
Bibliographic and full text content from scholarly business journals and other sources including peer-reviewed business publications. For industry reports, look for Industry Profiles in your results.
- Encyclopedia of American industries
Profiles of manufacturing and service industries.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Profiles of newer industries.
- Mergent Online
Detailed business and financial information on US and international public companies. Provides 15 years historic data and financial ratios. Create reports; customize analysis. Look for the Reports tab for industry reports.
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.
- Plunkett Research Online
Analysis and market research for important industry sectors. Includes trend analysis, statistics, organizations, company profiles, information for job-seekers, and ability to create custom reports.
- Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
International marketing data and research. Provides statistics and analysis across industries, countries, and consumers. Includes over 18,000 full market reports.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Financial and investment database providing information for corporate research and for industry, competitive, and investment analysis. Includes Industry Surveys.
Industry financial analysis and market trends for thousands of lines of business in national and local markets.
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HF5681.R25 T68
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HF5681.R25 I525
- RMA Annual Statement Studies
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HF5681.B2 R5
Trade Associations are created to promote a certain industry.
They typically offer useful resources on their Web pages including statistics,
trade publications, events calendars, etc. Often certain areas will be
restricted for members only, but they can still offer valuable resources. To find related associations, a quick Web search with Google will usually
suffice. For example, a search with "beverage association" will retrieve the
American Beverage Association as the first result.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Abstracts for statistical publications from 1973 forward; full-text of selected publications, 1995+. Includes many items from trade associations. For items with a SRI, ASI, or IIS record number, check the Statistical Reference Index (SRI), American Statistics Index (ASI), or Index to International Statistics (ISI) microfiche collection.
Trade publications focus on a particular industry or trade.
Some examples include Chain Store Age, Convenience Store News,
Beverage World, etc. Try the following databases for trade publications.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts and many full-text articles on business, finance, management topics from business periodicals. For trade publications, look for the Trade Publication tab on your results page. You can also try the NAICS search field, and industries are typically subject terms.
- Dow Jones Factiva
Comprehensive, full text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Replaces Dow Jones Interactive. To search for sources from a particular industry, try the industry source (articles from or trade publications) browser or add individual publications like the Wall Street Journal.
- Associates Programs Source
1000 full-text journals and 100 full-text books covering a range of subjects, including substance abuse counseling, forensics, criminal justice, biotechnology, health information technology, robotics, graphic arts, interior design, and others.
- County Business Patterns
Economic data by industry (and county, zip code, or metro area).
- Economic Census
Profile of the U.S. economy, it includes the number of establishments, sales, receipts, revenue, shipments, or business done, annual payroll, and number of employees, arranged by NAICS and geography.