Skip to Main Content

VCU Libraries

Today's Hours

LGBTQIA+ Health

Information to address health disparities that LGBT individuals face linked to societal stigma, discrimination, and denial of their civil and human rights (Healthy People 2020)

Getting Started

LGBTQ + Source
Indexing, abstracts, and select full text for international scholarly and popular publications on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues, with historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers.

LGBT Health Information

The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health [2 Volumes] by Jason S. Schneider (Editor); Vincent M. B. Silenzio (Editor); Laura Erickson-Schroth (Editor) This comprehensive review is the first handbook on LGBT physical and mental health created by the world's oldest and largest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health care professionals. Recent years have seen a flood of high quality research related to the health of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and families. The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health is the first comprehensive resource to gather that knowledge in one place in the service of vital information needs. Both accurate and easy to understand, the two-volume handbook addresses physical, mental, and emotional health, as well as policy decisions affecting the LGBT community from youth through old age. Volume One is devoted to overall health of the population and preventive care, while Volume Two examines disease management. Entries discuss concerns as diverse as HIV/AIDS, substance abuse, domestic violence, depression, heart health, policy and advocacy, and research. The clear but detailed articles in this groundbreaking work will help readers cut through the noise and controversy surrounding scientific advances to make informed choices about their health and well-being. Includes issues of physical, emotional, and sexual health, as well as prevention of disorders An appendix of organizations that may serve as sources for more information or assistance
ISBN: 9780313395659
Publication Date: 2019-05-17

Making your practice welcoming to LGBT clients

LGBTQIA+ cultural responsiveness for oral health providers
Appropriate for any health care provider, this comprehensive guide is designed to bridge knowledge gaps and foster a deeper understanding of LGBTQIA+ patients in dental care. Engage with reflective scenarios, educate yourself on key terminology, and explore actionable steps to enhance your practice. This is not just about reading; it's about meaningful action and a commitment to elevating standards of care.
LGBTQ cultures: what health care professionals need to know about sexual and gender diversity - ebook
Creating a Safe and Welcoming Environment for LGBTQ+ Patients - Guest Kaiyti Duffy, MD, MPH, chief medical officer at the Los Angeles LGBT Center, discusses how to create a safe and welcoming environment for LGBTQ+ patients—including sensitivity training for care team and staff, use of expansive and affirmative language, and respectful assessment and response to past medical trauma. Additional resources: https://bit.ly/3QAfklD
Focus on Forms and Policy: Creating an Inclusive Environment for LGBT Patients
Post a non-discrimination policy (example)
List your practice in the GLMA provider directory
Creating a Welcoming and Safe Environment for LGBT People and Families - webinar
Providing LGBTQ-Inclusive Care and Services At Your Pharmacy
Evaluate your organization's LGBTQIA+ health equity using the Health Equity Index
Guide to best practices in LGBTQIA+ cultural competency
Engaging Leadership and Organizational Change By the end of this talk, you will be able to Understand at least three markers of a more inclusive environment for trans and gender diverse staff, clients, patients, and community members, recognize the necessity to involve all levels of and positions in an organization to build system-wide change, consider changes to workforce development to attract transgender and gender diverse applicants and employees, and be able to apply the case example of Fenway Health to one’s own place of work, and develop at least two next steps for organizational change.

Advocacy

Last Updated: Aug 5, 2024 10:02 AM
URL: https://guides.library.vcu.edu/LGBTQHealth
Print Page

Subjects: Dentistry, Diversity, Gender, Race and Ethnicity, Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy