Research Guides: WRLD 203: Cultural Texts and Context: Afro-Latino Culture: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for WRLD 203-002, where you'll find resources to help you locate material on Afro-Latino Culture.

Best Bets

Try copying one or the other of these strings into the search boxes in the databases below, for a look at resources tied to the topics that many of you are pursuing:

Identity AND Latin* AND (migra* OR immigra*) AND (youth* OR teenage* OR children)

identity and (Latine OR Latinx) AND youth AND (belonging OR struggl* OR discrimin* OR prejud*)

Race Relations Abstracts
Summaries of academic journals, books, periodicals, and newspapers in ethnic and racial studies. Covers discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, community relations, radicalism, economics, cultural identity, and pressure groups.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Full text database covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes thousands of books, biographies, primary source documents, speeches, letters, interviews, videos, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, native and minority press.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts, providing bibliographic coverage of current research in social work, human services, and other areas.

Suggested Keywords

Think creatively about your search terms! Afro-Latina, Afro-Latino, or Afro-Latin* are good terms to start with, but that's comparatively new terminology. If you searches aren't proving successful, you might also try:

Afro-Latino
Afro-Latin American
Afro-Hispanic
Black Hispanic
Black Latino
Afro- or Black [ETHNIC/NATIONAL GROUP]
Black Puerto Rican
Afro-Cuban
In the case of black from the Dominican Republic use the term Indio.

[List adapted from this source.]

Keywords for Latina/o Studies by Deborah R. Vargas (Editor); Nancy Raquel Mirabal (Editor); Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes (Editor)
Keywords for Latina/o Studies is a generative text that enhances the ongoing dialogue within a rapidly growing and changing field. The keywords included in this collection represent established and emergent terms, categories, and concepts that undergird Latina/o studies; they delineate the shifting contours of a field best thought of as an intellectual imaginary and experiential project of social and cultural identities within the US academy. Bringing together 63 essays, from humanists, historians, anthropologists, sociologists, among others, each focused on a single term, the volume reveals the broad range of the field while also illuminating the tensions and contestations surrounding issues of language, politics, and histories of colonization, specific to this area of study. From "borderlands" to "migration," from "citizenship" to "mestizaje," this accessible volume will be informative for those who are new to Latina/o studies, providing them with a mapping of the current debates and a trajectory of the development of the field, as well as being a valuable resource for scholars to expand their knowledge and critical engagement with the dynamic transformations in the field.

Search VCU Libraries

Where Else Can I Search?

Here are some good places to start your research on all things Afro-Latino/a. If you are looking for information about famous Afro-Latinos/as, try looking in databases that are specific to your subject area. E.G. Information about the author Nancy Morejon can be found in the database MLA International Bibliography, which you can find on our Databases A-Z list. For more tips on where to get started, you can try this page, which has starting points for different subject areas. If the full text is not available in the database, use the Get It @ VCU link to access the full text of articles.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text access for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and periodicals, among other materials. Covers science, social sciences, mathematics, engineering, and many other subjects.
JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a digital core collection of primary and secondary sources in arts, history, literature, politics, and religion that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times.
America: History and Life
Article abstracts and citations of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Citation

VCU Libraries Citation Guide
Information about various citation styles, and how to find resources for them at VCU Libraries.

Related Guides

African American Studies
by Sergio Chaparro Last Updated Jul 22, 2024 238 views this year
History
by John Glover Last Updated Oct 22, 2024 510 views this year

WRLD 203: Cultural Texts and Context: Afro-Latino Culture

Humanities Research Librarian

Ask Us

More Help