Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

This is a selection of University archive records created by the University, and Manuscript collections donated by individuals and organizations. These are available for access in person in the Special Collections and Archives in Cabell Library on Monroe Campus and the Health Science Library on MCV Campus. 

• Student Organization Records
• University Publications from departments such as the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs and organizations such as the Muslim Student Association
• Richmond Professional Institute and Medical College of Virginia Bulletins which contain information on academic departments, fields of study, courses and faculty
• Illusion vs. Reality Project Collection, a collection of materials surrounding a project to document African American, Black Islamic, Asian, and Native American experience in Richmond, dealing with religion, education, literature, and culture in central Virginia. 

This is a selection of Book Art that either pertains to Asian American and Pacific Islander culture or was created by Asian American and Pacific Islander artists. These and others can be accessed in person in the SCA at Cabell Library. 

Do You Speak Second Gen? by Sophie Wang, 1-2268

Printed on pages of transparencies to evoke something illegible and incomprehensible, Do You Speak Second Gen? is an artists’ book about Wang’s relationship to Chinese language and culture as a second-generation immigrant.

Konglish by Jana Sims, 3-403

Konglish utilizes forms and structures of multiple bookbindings and moveable volvelles to explore Korean, English, and Konglish (a different language where words from Korean and English are combined).

Long Kwento by Maia Cruz Palileo, 2-1222

In Long Kwento, Maia Cruz Palileo collects, examines, interrogates, and recontextualizes archival material they encountered doing research in a number of American libraries with collections of Filipiniana by unfurling the history of colonization in the Philippines.

Mauna Kea Calling by Allison Milham

This small letterpress, handsewn pamphlet by Allison Milham contains an essay written by her mother on the impact of U.S. colonization on Native Hawaiians and the land and a transcript of a testimony her mother gave at a U.S. Department of the Interior hearing.

Vidai by Insiya Dhatt, 3-627

Bound like a wedding album in cloth used in bridal saris, this accordion book is about ceremonial elements of arranged marriages in India and Dhatt’s reflections on her own experience.

This is a selection of Comic Arts  either pertaining to Asian American and Pacific Islander culture or created by Asian American and Pacific Islander artists.  These and others can be accessed in person in the SCA at Cabell Library. 

Heavy Metal magazine, vol. 1 no. 11

Inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame in 2022, Alex Niño is a Filipino American artist who has illustrated comics for Marvel, D.C., Dark Horse Comics, Warren, and other publishers. This issue of Heavy Metal, a publication he contributed to over the years, features a wraparound two-page spread painting by Niño.

J & K by John Pham PN6727.P4699 J25 2019

John Pham’s debut graphic novel about two friends is printed in neon colors to mimic his original comics printed using a Risograph copier and comes with bonus elements connected to the story: trading cards, a poster, stickers, and even a vinyl record!

A Map to the Sun by Sloane Leong PN6727.L46 M37 2020

This coming-of-age graphic novel charts the struggles of five players on a girls’ basketball team set in Los Angeles. The colorful, visually-striking book explores how strengthening friendships and teamwork can lead to empowerment.

One! Hundred! Demons! by Lynda Barry PN6727.B36 O54 2002

This semi-autobiographical book by cartoonist Lynda Barry contains vignettes of Barry confronting various demons in her life, inspired by the scroll paintings of Hakuin Ekaku, a 16th century Zen Buddhist monk.

WildC.A.T.s vol.1, issues #1-4, by Jim Lee and Brandon Choi

WildC.A.T.s was a comic book series published by Image Comics about a set of interconnected superheroes created by Jim Lee, who previously worked as a penciler for X-Men, and Brandon Choi.

Some University archives and manuscript collection materials have been digitized and are available online. 

• Student Newspapers in particular Reflections in Ink, Ink and the Vine which were intended to represent minority voices and interests
• Student Yearbooks which will have lists and photographs of students
• VCU Bulletins which contains information on academic departments, fields of study and courses
• Through the Decades: AAPI Life at VCU a digital exhibit of the history of Asian American and Pacific Islander culture at VCU developed by Asian American and Pacific Islander Affinity and other student organizations.