Research Guides: Accessibility: Articles

Databases

These databases contain scholarly articles that can support a range of types of academic, legal, and practical research into accessibility, as well as Critical Disability Studies.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text access for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and periodicals, among other materials. Covers science, social sciences, mathematics, engineering, and many other subjects.

AGELINE
Abstracts of the literature of social gerontology. Literature covered is of interest to researchers, health professionals, and consumers.
more...less...
(1978 - present) VCU access only

Alternative Press Index
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals, covering from 1991 to the present. Includes the Alternative Press Archive.

ERIC (Proquest)
Premier education database addressing all aspects of education, including theories of teaching and learning.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline includes articles from law journals as well as statutes, supporting legal research into accessibility and disability in law.

Humanities Abstracts
Broad coverage of humanities disciplines with indexes and abstracts to articles from English-language periodicals as well as book reviews, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, and reviews of plays, television, and radio programs.

JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. (Backfiles end 3 - 5 years prior to current date).

Left Index
Covers the diverse political, economic, social, and cultural literature of the left. Also covers some historically significant early left publications.

PAIS International
Coverage: 1915 - present
Abstracts from the international literature on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Includes PAIS Archive, 1915-1976.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of journals in medicine and life sciences.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Citations and summaries to journal articles covering trends in urbanization, urban affairs, community development, urban history, housing and real estate, and architecture and urban design.
Violence and Abuse Abstracts
Covers family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and many other related areas.

Women's Studies International
Women's Studies and feminist research supporting curriculum development in sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
more...less...
(1972-present) VCU access only

WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal research, business information, and news. Full-text access to federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, administrative codes, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, newspapers and magazines.

Search tips:

When using the gold search box on the VCU Libraries homepage or another database, consider entering any of the following searches alone, or in conjunction with each other:

VCU Libraries Homepage

ableledness, able-bodied
accessibility, access, accessible
disability, disabilities, "disability studies"
"inclusive design"
"universal design"
"user centered design"
and/or any specific issue related to accessibility