VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Advance Your Research

Workshops for graduate students and other advanced researchers designed to help make your research process better, faster and smarter.

Contact Us

Kelsey Cheshire's picture
Kelsey Cheshire

Webinars: 2020 - 2021

2020-2021 Upcoming Webinars

(scroll down for materials from past webinars in 2020-2021)

 

Publishing a Journal Article: A Getting Started Guide for Graduate Students - Stacey Wahl, Hillary Miller, and Julie Arendt
February 3, 2021

You’ve done the research. Now it’s time to share the results by writing an article for publication. Join this interactive webinar to get started with journal authoring and publishing.

Register

 

A Tale of Two Posters: Print and Digital Academic Posters - Hope Kelly, Carla-Mae Crookendale, and Eric Johnson
February 17, 2021

Help your audiences better understand your research! Learn tips for designing engaging conference posters, and configuring your content for both print and digital formats.

Register

 

Secondary Data Search and Retrieval: Sources, Exports, and Imports - Nina Exner
March 17, 2021

This session will address secondary analysis steps between operationalizing the constructs and running the analysis. We will discuss extracting a dataset, finding the data and codebook in the data package, and uploading to App2Go.

Register

 

2020-2021 Past Webinars

Evaluating Information during COVID-19: Preprints, Retractions, Politics, Rumors, and More - Erica Brody and Hillary Miller
September 16, 2020 - noon Eastern time

During the COVID-19 pandemic, how do we balance the "need for speed" with the risks of moving too fast when evaluating the quality of research to make important decisions?

 

Researching Globally:  Search Strategy and Tips - Sergio Chaparro
October 14, 2020

Have you considered how much research is being produced outside of the United States? This webinar is intended to expose students to information resources and databases that contain international research.

 

APA 7th Edition: What You Need to Know - Nia Rodgers and Erin Carrillo
November 11, 2020

This webinar will introduce attendees to changes to the latest edition of the APA style manual.

Webinars: 2019 - 2020

Incorporating Feminist Practice into Your Research - Kelsey Cheshire, Pattie Sobczak, and Hillary Miller

November 20, 2019 

Have you considered how to assimilate your personal beliefs as a feminist into your scholarly pursuits? This webinar will present theoretical approaches to incorporate feminist practice in your research. 

Data Searching for Secondary Data Analysis - Nina Exner

February 12, 2020 

It can be surprisingly hard to find data for a specific research question. This session will introduce tools and concepts for more effective data searching, for students who are new to secondary analysis.

Organize and Share Your Research Projects with OSF...remotely! - Nina Exner

April 15, 2020

Do you wish there was one place you could store research files, track versions in any file (not just Google files), and share with teammates and advisors? We’ll share how the Open Science Framework (OSF) lets you do all that plus share research publicly or on your CV when you’re done. And you can do it all remotely to preserve social distance!

Webinars: 2018 - 2019


SAGE Research Methods: Your Online Research Partner - John Cyrus and Erica Brody

Do you ever find yourself stuck at some part of the research process? Are you in a class or program that requires you to do a research project and you don’t know where to start? Or perhaps, you have collected all of your data and are not quite sure how to approach analysis? SAGE Research Methods can help you move forward. This online database has information to guide users through each step of the research process, from defining a topic to research design and writing a manuscript for publication.


Publishing Scams: Spotting Predatory Journals and Thesis Publishers - Nina Exner and Hillary Miller

Publishing scams take money from students and even faculty and give nothing in return. This webinar will share some common predatory publishing schemes and how to tell the real publishing offers from the fakes.


Preparing a Literature Review in the Behavioral and Social Sciences - Sergio Chaparro and Kelsey Cheshire
Conducting a literature review can feel like a daunting task.  Overcome your anxiety before your next research project by learning helpful tips and tricks for conducting literature reviews in the behavioral and social sciences.


Keeping Track of Your Citations - Erin Carrillo and Rachel Koenig

Learn how to choose the citation management tool best for your research. This session will include an introduction to the features of Mendeley and Zotero. Join us for a webinar to learn

  • What a citation manager does
  • How Mendeley and Zotero are different
  • How to choose the best tool for your needs

Virginia is for Local Information Lovers - Donna Coghill, Janet Reid and Julie Arendt

Having difficulty locating specific details on a local company, event, or controversy? Join us for a webinar to learn

  • Best databases for local information
  • Non-database resources for accessing local news
  • Tricks for limiting searches to particular geographic regions

Get Ready for Summer (Research)! - John Glover
Learn to make the most of summer! With advance planning, you can optimize your research and writing time, keep your productivity up, and have more time for beaches and barbecues.

Webinars: 2017 - 2018

PubMed: Make the Most of the Premier Biomedical Database - Emily Hurst

Learn to search MEDLINE via PubMed, including basic features and search techniques such as limits, display options, and print formats. Methods to identify locally available journals or full-text online articles will also be discussed. At the end of this workshop, participants will be able to

  • Describe disciplines covered by and material included in PubMed​.
  • Understand why and how to access PubMed through VCU libraries.
  • Perform a simple search in PubMed and view search history.
  • Identify options for displaying search results.
  • Discuss options for limiting or filtering results of search.
  • Connect to VCU Libraries holding to obtain full text of articles.

Show Me the Money! Use PIVOT to Find Funding Opportunities - Melissa Throckmorton

Learn step-by-step how to use the PIVOT search engine to find funding opportunities specific to your research. You will learn how to

  • Write a lay-language abstract of your project to determine the type of funding you may need, timing and deadlines, and specific keywords you can use for a targeted search.
  • Set up your funding search and make it work automatically.
  • Filter, sort and analyze the search results to find the funding opportunities most suited to your needs.

A Date with Data from ICPSR - Nina Exner

Learn how to use ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) to find real research data for secondary analysis for your course paper, thesis, article or classroom. This overview will

  • Introduce you to the vast range of regional, national and international datasets, data series and thematic collections available from ICPSR.
  • Demonstrate their relevance to disciplines and programs throughout the university.
  • Highlight tools available for data planning, data management and data processing.
  • Introduce data-driven learning guides designed to reinforce key concepts in the social sciences.

Get Creative (Commons) - Carla-Mae Crookendale (with Hillary Miller)

Learn about Creative Commons and how to find, use and create Creative Commons licensed media. During this session, you will learn

  • What Creative Commons licenses are.
  • How and where to find Creative Commons licensed content you can reuse.
  • How to apply Creative Commons licenses to content you create to share with others.

Citation Management Tools - Marilyn Scott and Martha Roseberry

Learn how to choose the citation management tool best for your research. This session will include an introduction to the features of Mendeley and Zotero. Attendees will learn how to

  • Select the citation tool(s) most appropriate for their research practices.
  • Download and install the most appropriate citation tool(s).
  • Add references to their selected citation tool(s). 

Webinars: 2013 - 2017

Personal Branding: Building your professional platform - Carla-Mae Crookendale

Learn why personal branding is important for career advancement in any field. Discover strategies and resources to refine your brand.


Publish as a Graduate Student​​ - Hillary Miller

This webinar will walk you through the entire publishing process: selecting the right work and the right publication venue, submitting your work to a publisher, responding to peer review comments, signing publication agreements and promoting your publication efforts.


Getting Started with Systematic Reviews - John Cyrus

An introductory workshop on planning and conducting a systematic review. Topics include creating a protocol, the investigator's role and how librarians can help throughout the process.


How to Start Your Lit Review - John Glover

Based on one of our most popular sessions, you will learn basic techniques for locating literature, tracking down citations and putting it all together.


Data Visualization - Martha Roseberry

Explore tools, tips and best practices to create data visualizations for a paper, poster or presentation.


Your "Aha!" Moment - Carla-Mae Crookendale

Learn about library resources that will help you think creatively and convert your research into new ideas.


Make an Impact: How to Find the Right Journal for Your Research - Julie Arendt

Find out what an Impact Factor is and what it is not, and how to use it and other techniques and resources to find the right journal for your research


Learn to Love Your Lit Review - Nita Bryant and John Glover

This online session will cover how to locate the important literature on your topic, track down citations and organize them effectively.