This guide provides shortcuts to VCU Libraries resources and to websites that are useful for biomedical engineering students and faculty, with an emphasis on resources for academic research and for design projects.
PubMed is the primary database for locating research articles in medicine, health and biology. Although using PubMed to discover articles is free, go through VCU Libraries and use Get It @ VCU to access the full text of subscription (non-free) articles.
Access to up-to-date engineering literature to locate a wide range of trusted engineering sources, especially journal articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering . Includes Compendex, INSPEC, and NTIS.
A set of databases to find articles. It includes sources from all branches of science and is strongest in biology and medicine. Science Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record are among the databases included.
Full-text articles from over 12,000 publications in electrical and computer engineering and computer sciences. It has journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and standards from IEEE and IEE.
Academic Search Complete has information about both popular and scholarly articles on a variety of topics and includes full text for many of them. It's a good place to get a few articles on a topic, especially if you are just getting started.
Database of articles in computer science, computing and information systems journals and conferences published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Searches can be expanding out to the ACM Guide to find information about articles not published by the ACM, and use Get it @ VCU to access the complete articles.
Full-text articles from over 12,000 publications in electrical and computer engineering and computer sciences. It has journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and standards published by IEEE and IEE.
Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) database in physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Includes citations, abstracts, and select full text for journals, proceedings, books, and other materials. Part of Engineering Village.