VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Find Books, Articles, and More

Ask Us

Books by floor locations

For books in Cabell Library found via the VCU Libraries gold search box (on the libraries' homepage), the listings includes the call number which is found in parenthesis. Make note of the call number. You'll need it to locate the book's exact place on the shelf. 

Books are shelved by the first letter of their call number. During fall semester 2021, Cabell's collection will undergoing some shifts due to new shelving construction. To know which exact call numbers are on a particular floor in Cabell Library, please stop by our Information Desk on the first floor to inquire about an item's location. Otherwise, generally our floors contain the following call letter ranges (subject to change due to construction shifts).

  • First floor: General Collection books A through E; also Current Periodicals; Bound Journals; Reference Collection; Government Document Collection; Academic and Career Collection; English Language Readers
  • Third floor: General Collection books F through N; also Music Scores; Microforms; Juvenile and Young Adult Literature
  • Floor: General Collection books  P through Z; also Oversized books A-Z; Art Browsery; Special Collections and Archives

What you'll find on this page

On this page, you'll learn:

  • what to do when you find a book using VCU Libraries Search
  • how to read a Library of Congress call number
  • what to do if you can't find a book on the shelf
  • how to request materials

Finding Books at VCU Libraries

Library of Congress Call Numbers

What if you can't find your book?

What do you do if you can't find your book on the shelf?

If you're having trouble finding your book, you can always go to the Information Desk on the first floor and ask for help. You can also contact library staff via chat, text, or email.

You can also check the third floor sorting area, next to the bathrooms and in front of the music scores. The books on the shelves are grouped by call number but are not in order. The books on the carts are all grouped by call number but are in order. Need help? Just ask!

How about if a book is lost, in storage, or at HSL? What if you want an article or some other non-book item?

Go to Request Materials for more information.