Health Sciences Library Virtual Displays

The study of childhood deafness offers researchers many interesting insights into the role of experience and sensory inputs for the development of language and cognition. This volume provides a state of the art look at these questions and how they are being applied in the areas of clinical and educational settings. It also marks the career and contributions of one of the greatest scholars in the field of deafness: Bencie Woll. As the field of deafness goes through rapid and profound changes, we hope that this volume captures the latest perspectives regarding the impacts of these changes for our understanding of child development.

It is estimated that there are currently 1.9 million deafened adults living in North America'people who could once hear but have become. An invaluable guide to self-help techniques of proven value to deafened people.

Genetics of Deafness offers a journey through areas crucial for understanding the causes and effects of hearing loss. It covers such topics as the latest approaches in diagnostics and deafness research and the current status and future promise of gene therapy for hearing restoration. The book begins by bringing attention to how hearing loss affects the individual and society. Methods of hearing loss detection and management throughout the lifespan are highlighted as is a particularly new development in newborn hearing screening. The challenges of hearing loss, an extremely heterogeneous impairment, are addressed.

In this highly original study of the cultural assumptions governing our conception of people with disabilities, Lennard J. Davis argues forcefully against "ableist" discourse and for a complete recasting of the category of disability itself. Enforcing Normalcy surveys the emergence of a cluster of concepts around the term "normal" as these matured in western Europe and the United States over the past 250 years. Linking such notions to the concurrent emergence of discourses about the nation, Davis shows how the modern nation-state constructed its identity on the backs not only of colonized subjects, but of its physically disabled minority. In a fascinating chapter on contemporary cultural theory

The assessment and treatment of mental health concerns for Deaf individuals has been largely ignored and/or misunderstood by many mental health professionals. In Mental Health and Deafness, Margaret du Feu and Cathy Chovaz seek to rectify this by outlining current issues surrounding mental health and deafness. The book provides valuable information to professionals interested in expanding their knowledge of mental health and deafness, and the authors share their extensive clinical experience with the reader through a variety of case studies. The authors primarily focus on individuals who were born deaf or deafened early in life, but also describe the mental health aspects of acquired deafness and individuals with both deafness and blindness.

For clinical researchers in audiology and otolaryngology, this fifth book in the Kresge- Mirmelstein Award series features the proceedings of the 1998 symposium. The book includes contributions from leading researchers on genetic causes of hearing loss and includes a CD-ROM containing audio and video footage from a Balinese village with a large genetically deaf population that have adopted a sign language indigenous to their culture. The CD-ROM also features samples of American Sign Language and Cued Speech. In the tradition of Berlin's previous work this book presents stunning new and evocative information for both researchers and clinicians.

Self-Assessment of Hearing, Second Edition is about self-assessment of hearing loss and related dysfunctions in the various circumstances of clinical and research activity addressed to this aspect of human functioning. The author aims to display the place of self-assessment in the patchwork of audiological appraisal, argue certain positions with respect to the status and significance of self-assessment in research and clinical investigation, and challenge received positions on conceptual and nomenclatural matters.. In the opening chapter, the author discusses matters of theoretical debate relevant to the self-assessment approach overall, as well as to technical points from the world of psychometrics, then considers the motive for using self-assessment - in effect, expanding on the above claim about measurement of disability

Practical, concise, and time-saving, Hearing Disorders Handbook provides comprehensive, reliable and accurate descriptions of auditory and vestibular disorders, their frequency of occurrence, etiology, diagnosis, and management all in a single resource. It approaches the subject from a multitude of perspectives from the diverse disciplines that make up the typical hearing rehabilitation team including audiologists, otologists, speech and language pathologists, plus those working in the related fields of education, genetics, pediatrics, and psychology. Each topic is presented in concise and consistently organized form, sifting the essential from the unessential, and includes references to original print and electronic sources.

This title is dedicated solely to hearing loss in older adulthood and, more importantly, the process involved in serving the special needs of older adults who are hearing impaired.

In this day and age, we are dealing with a vastly different population of children with hearing loss, a population that never before in history have we had. With this new population, whose hearing loss is identified at birth, we can now prevent the developmental and communicative effects of hearing loss that were so common just a few years ago. With these babies and young children, we can now work primarily from a developmental and preventive perspective rather than from a remedial, corrective one. What has happened in the field of hearing loss is revolutionary.This second edition of Developing Listening and Talking, Birth to Six remains a dynamic compilation of crucially important information for the facilitation of auditorally-based spoken language for today's infants and young children with hearing loss.This text is intended for graduate level training programs for professionals who work with children who have hearing loss and their families (teachers, therapists, speech-language pathologists, and audiologists.) In addition, the book will be of great interest to undergraduate speech-language-hearing programs, early childhood education and intervention programs, and parents of children who have hearing loss.