CSIJ 200: Race & Racism in America

Searchable collection of poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, providing a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry.

Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression, with reference texts, biographies, sheet music, and other materials.

Documents from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I that provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement.

Documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, employment and more from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow.

Chronicles African history and life from 64 newspapers published before 1901. Includes eyewitness reporting, advertisements, military reports, news and analysis of European exploration and colonization, and early moves toward self-governance.

Over 13,000 works comprising an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.

Primary source documents from the records of federal government agencies, the personal papers of African Americans, and records of civil rights organizations.

Black Studies Center is a digital core collection of primary and secondary sources in arts, history, literature, politics, and religion that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times.

Documentaries, interviews, and archival footage covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Oral histories of African-Americans from all walks of life, including politicians, authors, civil rights activists, religious leaders, musicians, legal scholars, and many others. Includes video footage.

Primary source materials on the transatlantic slave trade. Documents the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, the abolition movement, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean, and elsewhere.

Digital collection of images, videos, books, and other materials documenting African American history and culture. Sourced from archives, libraries, museums, and other U.S. repositories.