Racism and Health

Brief overviews of health issues of particular significance to different populations. Statistics are reported at the national level.

The main pdf is a large compilation of tables on health-related topics. Specific statistics can be found by jumping through the pdf or by navigating to topical pages on the site. Information is primarily at the national level.

Query system to access public health data

More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level that can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.

From CDC, world’s largest, ongoing telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Factors assessed include tobacco use, health care coverage, HIV/AIDS, physical activity, consumption. It includes built-in graphing tools to look at summary statistics by state or over time.

A subset of iPoll, Health Poll is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling.

All of Us is working to improve health care through research. Unlike research studies that focus on one disease or group of people, All of Us is building a diverse database that can inform thousands of studies on a variety of health conditions.

Online tool to access data from U.S Census and related economic and community surveys. In addition to demographic and income information, it includes some health-related topics such as insurance coverage and disability.

Births and deaths, broken down by county and by White / Black / Other for race and ethnicity. Other health information for Virginia, not always by county or by race / ethnicity.

Provides health statistics at the county level (but not broken down by race or ethnicity) and provides links to data sources. If you are looking for the City of Richmond, be sure to select Richmond city, rather than Richmond as the county.

Maps of health risk and protective factors for the City of Richmond by census tract. It does not include race or ethnicity information, but to the extent housing is segregated by race or ethnicity, it could be used to glean information about racism and health.