BIOL/BIOZ 303: Microbiology

Magazine that reports on findings from scientific research. Articles frequently link to the original research articles.

General science - with longer topical feature articles written by scientists themselves and shorter articles written by magazine staff

Monthly science magazine.
TO SEARCH: Enter your search term(s) in the upper right search box.

Magazine with a mixture of scholarly articles and science news.
To search, use the search box in the upper right corner.

A monthly magazine with a variety of topics, including longer articles related to science.
TO SEARCH: In the upper left, click “Search this publication,” then enter your search term(s) on the next screen to search Smithsonian back to 1990.

Comprehensive scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database. It contains both scholarly and non-scholarly content. Use the limiters on the left to select which you want.

Coverage of core journals in all areas of science. Easy to use, designed for the non-specialist. Full-text for selected periodicals.

PubMed is the go-to source for biomedical & health sciences research. Use Get it @ VCU to go through the library to access subscription (non-free) articles.

Citation database of scholarly literature covering all scientific disciplines.

Online encyclopedia of science, mathematics and technology.

Information and pictures of all species known to science.

Image rich dynamic resource, representing the 17 volume standard print Encyclopedia of Animal Life. More than 4,000 species covering the entire Animal Kingdom. Authoritative peer reviewed content.

Encyclopedia of information about plants and botany

Online textbook of select concepts in biology, especially as they relate to topics that frequently appear in the news

Textbooks similar to or that could supplement the standard introductory biology textbook