Research Guides: M3 Clerkship Resources: Home

Quick Answers

Provides reviewed clinical reference material including drug information, dosing, and brief summaries of conditions and management options. Available off campus with personal account registered while on campus.
App for iOS and Android devices (register account on campus for access to the app)

A diagnosis tool based on dermatological signs. It is available on desktops, phones, and tablets.
App for iOS and Android devices (register via web-based version to create the username and password)

Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Includes evaluation of therapies for specific conditions, herbs and supplements, and diet therapies.

ECRI Guidelines Trust -free repository of recent clinical guidelines
BMJ Rapid Recommendations - evidence-based visual guides to clinical recommendations

Cochrane Library
A database of systematic reviews on health care topics. Also includes a hand-picked registry of controlled trials

PubMed
The primary source of research articles in biomedical and health sciences fields. Includes more than 24 million citations for case reports, cohort studies, randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, and guidelines.
TRIP Database
Search engine that allows user to quickly sort search results by type of evidence.
Google Scholar
Google's search engine of scholarly literature. Searches full text of documents and ranks them by publishing journal, author, and how often and how recently they have been cited.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for clinicians. The site features over eight hours of video content.
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide
Teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints.
The Rational Clinical Exam
Evidence-based guide to diagnosing common conditions.
Mind the Gap
A clinical handbook of signs and symptoms in Black and Brown skin.
Brown Skin Matters
Reference photos of dermatological conditions on non-white skin.
LGBTQIA+ Health - Providers Guide
VCU Libraries guide to resources on LGBTQIA+ Health for health care providers.
PsychiatryOnline
Psychiatry portal that features the full-text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), textbooks, journals and Guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association.

JAMA User's Guide to the Medical Literature
Handbook on how to read, appraise, and apply research.
Students 4 Best Evidence
Topics reviews, EBM concepts, and research tutorials.