Research Guides: Medicine: Find Articles

Summaries of Evidence

TRIP Database
Evidence search engine with easy filtering of results by type of evidence.
UpToDate
Provides reviewed clinical reference material including drug information, dosing, and brief summaries of conditions and management options. Available off campus with personal account registered while on campus. App for iOS and Android devices (register account on campus for access to the app).
ECRI Institute Guidelines Trust
Repository of freely available guidelines updated within the last five years. Requires creation of login.
Stanford Antimicrobial Guidebook
Clinical information on the use of antibiotics, including decision trees, dosing guides, and treatment guidelines. Created by the Stanford Antimicrobial Safety & Sustainability Program. Some recommendations may be specific to clinical practice at Stanford Health Care.

Syntheses of Evidence

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, reviews conducted by Cochrane, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), reports of RCTs pulled from PubMed, Embase, ClinicalTrails.gov, and the WHO International Clinical Trials Registry.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice Center Reports
Searchable collection of evidence reports, comparativeness effectiveness reviews, and technology assessments conducted by Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-Based Practice Centers.

Synopses of Single Studies

ACP Journal Club
A monthly publication that selects, summarizes, and appraises several articles judged to have a high clinical impact. Accessed through the American College of Physicians or EBSCO Publishing.
Evidence-Based Medicine (BMJ)
Critical reviews of current research.

Single Studies

PubMed
The primary source of research articles in biomedical and health sciences fields. Includes more than 24 million citations for case reports, cohort studies, randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, and guidelines.
Google Scholar
Search engine of scholarly literature with broad, interdisciplinary coverage.
CINAHL
Includes citations to articles from more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Embase
Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for use in systematic reviews, and for finding drug and medical device information.
PsycINFO
Largest resource for peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed Special Queries
Find literature in PubMed by applying ready-made searches, topical subsets, and journal collection, including clinical queries, health services research, AIDS, health disparities, and core clinical journals.
TRIP Database
Search engine that allows user to quickly sort search results by type of evidence.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary research spanning social sciences, life sciences, and bio-medicine.

Background Information (Textbooks)

Psychiatry Online - Collection of APA textbooks and journals including the DSM.

STAT!Ref - Collection of reference texts including INFECTIOUS DISEASES: The Clinician's Guide to Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prevention, AHFS Drug Information, Drug Points, and ICD-10 codes.

Access Series:

AccessMedicine - Includes Harrison's, DeGowin's Diagnostic Exam, and Stern's Symptoms to Diagnosis. Also features physical exam and essential radiology videos, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment questions.
AccessSurgery - Includes Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, a Surgery clerkship section, a large selection of multimedia content, and self-assessment questions.
AccessAnesthesiology - Includes textbooks, algorithms, procedural videos, and cases.
AccessEmergencyMedicine - Includes Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Goldfrank's Toxicological Emergencies, decision rules and algorithms, procedural videos, and a clerkship section.
AccessPharmacy - Includes Goodman & Gilman, herbal medicine and supplement information, and other content.

Medicine

Research & Education Librarian

Apps and Websites

Summaries of Evidence

Syntheses of Evidence

Synopses of Single Studies

Single Studies

Background Information (Textbooks)