Complementary and Alternative Medicine

The most complete, up-to-date, and research-based guide to integrating Complementary and Alternative practices into nursing.   Now fully updated and reflecting extensive new research and evidence, Complementary and Alternative Therapies for Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition is today's most comprehensive overview of alternative health practices and complementary therapies from a nursing perspective. It begins by explaining philosophical approaches to both Western biomedicine and alternative or complementary medicine, introducing concepts such as energy, breath, spirituality, and healing. Next, it presents diverse systems of health care practice, including the values, attitudes, and beliefs that accompany them. Detailed sections thoroughly discuss botanical and manual healing, mind-body and spiritual approaches, and more. The appendix provides specific information on alternative therapies for many common health problems. This edition contains new evidence throughout, including significantly updated Considering the Evidence features presenting eight systematic reviews of randomized control trials, and two new primary research studies. Coverage updates include an expanded discussion of the use of music in therapy, including music-thanatology for palliative care.   Teaching and Learning Experience   This text will help nursing students assimilate thousands of years of healing knowledge from around the world, merging Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) approaches with Western-based nursing practices. It provides: Strong focus throughout on applying evidence and research in real-world nursing practice: Presents the latest evidence, including systematic reviews of randomized control trials and primary research; shows nurses how to evaluate that evidence and use it in practice Comprehensive coverage of virtually all areas of Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Includes wide-ranging coverage of systematized practices such as traditional Chinese medicine, ayurvedic Medicine, Native American healing and curanderismo; as well as full sections on botanical healing, manual healing, mind-body techniques, spiritual therapies, and more Helps nurses use CAM both as part of an integrated nursing practice, and to improve their own lives and well-being: Offers specific guidance on integrating CAM with western medicine, using it in client education, and personally applying CAM practices to manage stress and other health concerns

The potential benefits of plants and plant extracts in the treatment and possible prevention of many leading health concerns are becoming more widely recognised within the medicinal community. This major comprehensive reference work contains contributions from more than 80 clinical and academic experts in the field, covering a range of plant products and their uses, divided into sections on topics such as treatments of cardiovascular diseases and cancer. The book covers the safety and efficacy of botanical treatments and there is also a chapter analysing the possible interactions of herbal remedies with prescription drugs. This is the most up-to-date text on the latest research findings from all over the world and will be an essential resource.

From acupuncture to yoga, echinacea to St. John's wort, meditation to healing touch, Mayo Clinic provides answers to the most pressing questions people have about the effectiveness of complementary and alternative medicine and when it's appropriate to use natural remedies in place of or in conjunction with traditional medicine. Mayo Clinic Alternative Medicine also provides helpful tips on how to treat common ailments and incorporate alternative treatments into the readers' and their families' lives. Many common health problems can be treated with simple remedies you can do at home. Even if the steps you take don't cure the problem, they can relieve symptoms and allow you to go about your daily life, or at least help you until you're able to see a doctor. In situations involving your health or the health of your family, the same questions typically arise: What actions can I take that are immediate, safe and effective? When should I contact my doctor? What symptoms signal an emergency? Mayo Clinic Book of HomeRemedies clearly defines these questions with regard to your health concerns, and guides you to choose the appropriate and most effective response.

Providing a comprehensive overview, this text includes practical, clinically relevant coverage of complementary and alternative medicine, with commentary by well-known experts, descriptions of recent medical advances, case studies, and the history and philosophy of each discipline, along with indications, contraindications, practical application, and clinical trials for each topic. Research is critically reviewed, with examples of exceptional and flawed studies. You'll gain an understanding of the most commonly used alternative therapies, as well as those most likely to be integrated with conventional medical treatment. More than 200 photographs and illustrations and 15 new line drawings clarify the material and make learning easier. A highly readable style simplifies complex concepts and keeps the material interesting. Current, research-based information explores the efficacy of many therapies so you can make decisions with confidence. Healing methods are emphasized, rather than systems. A topical organization lets you use what you need for your own practice, without having to read through extraneous detail. Chapter openers show why the content of the chapter is important, what is covered, and what objectives will be met. Features include: Why Read this Chapter? Chapter at a Glance Chapter Objectives An Expert Speaks boxes highlight the personal experience of well-known researchers and practitioners in each discipline, discussing the historical context of research, current contributions, and future directions. Critical Thinking and Clinical Application Questions show real-world situations so you can test and apply your knowledge. Points to Ponder help you tie together and interpret facts. A Closer Look boxes expand upon case study reviews and clinical application examples. Learning Opportunities suggest activities for interacting with health care professionals. Summary tables show outcomes from important clinical trials at a glance. Appendices provide information on CAM resources and contacts. A free Evolve companion website includes regular updates of content, student activities, and full-color images. Three new chapters: Reiki describes this popular CAM therapy and how it can be used along with related ethical and legal issues. Measurement of the Human Biofield explores cutting-edge technology and research into the biofield as well as theories about the implications of mind-body regulation. The Future of Ethnomedicine offers views of health and sickness from around the world, including perspectives that differ from traditional instruction and media portrayals. Includes the latest information on professional licensing. Seven new interviews are included, plus updates to previous interviews.