Complementary and Alternative Medicine

This site provides evidence-based information for professionals and health consumers. Some services are fee based.

The NCCAM explores complementary and alternative healing practices in the context of scientific practices, trains CAM researchers, and disseminates information.

NLM database with links to other NLM resources. Has information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements. Joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Herbs at a Glance offers a series of fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals.

Information from the Natural Standard includes evidence-based information on the effectiveness, dosing, and safety of herbal products and supplements.

The ODS supports research and disseminates research results in the area of dietary supplements.

The site provides evidence-based information for health professionals and consumers on the therapeutic uses and effects of herbal medicines and dietary supplements.

The NCAHF is a private nonprofit, voluntary health agency that focuses upon health misinformation, fraud, and quackery as public health problems.

Comprehensive guide to health fraud and quackery.

The dictionary provides definitions, essays, and discussions from a skeptic's point of view.

The NCCIH provides information on the risks and benefits of complementary and alternative medicine.