Books - Architectural History - Richmond - Research Guides at Virginia Commonwealth University

Architectural History Books

Here is a small selection of Richmond architectural history books that researchers might find useful. We also have a large number of Richmond Master Plans, Master Plans of VCU, publications about Monroe Park, and other area topics.

The Making of Virginia Architecture by Charles E. Brownell ... [et al.].
Call Number: Cabell Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: NA730.V8 M35 1992

ISBN: 0917046331
Richmond’s Fan District by Carneal, Drew, St. J.
Call Number: Special Collections and Archives: F234.R56 F258 1996

ISBN: 188956902X
Greetings from Richmond by Bonis, Ray, and Tom H. Ray
Call Number: Cabell Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: NA735.R5 B66 2009

ISBN: 0764333682
Decorative arts on VCU’s West Franklin Street: A Tour for the Society of Architectural Historians, April 21, 2002 by George, Linda
Call Number: Special Collections and Archives: NK2003.5 .G46 2002
Nonesuch Place: A History of the Richmond Landscape by Potterfield, T. Tyler
Call Number: Cabell Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: F234.R54 P68 2009

ISBN: 1596294159
Built by Blacks: African American architecture and neighborhoods in Richmond, Virginia by Richardson, Selden
Call Number: Cabell Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: E185.92 .R53 2007

ISBN: 1596294590
The Virginia Architects, 1835-1955: A Biographical Dictionary by Wells, John E., and Robert E. Dalton
Call Number: Cabell Reference and Special Collections and Archvies: NA730.V8 W45 1997
Buildings of Virginia: Tidewater and Piedmont by Richard Guy Wislon ... [et al.]
Call Number: Cabell Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: NA730.V8 B85 2002

ISBN: 0195152069
Old Richmond Neighborhoods by Scott, Mary Wingfield
Call Number: Cabell Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: F234.R56 A2 1975
Architecture in Downtown Richmond by Winthrop, Robert P.
Call Number: James Branch Cabell Library and Health Sciences Library Stacks and Special Collections and Archives: