Caregiving Resources

The AARP website provides users with a Caregiving Resource Center. There seniors and caregivers can find information on getting started, providing care, house, financial, legal, and end of life issues.

This website is provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and is a good source for facts and statistics related to caregiving. These statistics cover topics such as the expense of caregiving, caregiving demographics (age, sex, etc.), and how caregivers often cope with their additional responsibilities.

This website is a useful resource for caregivers seeking information on balancing their caregiving responsibilities and their own needs. This link provides information on staying organized, maintaining wellness, and creating a support team. This website also discusses how to cope with common emotions that caregivers may feel.

Site provides links to caregiving information and provides ways to find local programs for caregiver support.

Senior Navigator, a non-profit organization, provides links to information on caregiving basics, local support, long-distance caregiving, balancing work and caregiving, assistive technology, and stress management.

The National Institute of Aging gives some tips on how to practice self-care while also caring for someone else.

Offers facts and figures related to the role of women in caregiving. Discusses the involvement of women in caregiving, balancing work-life and caregiving needs, the health consequences of caregiving, and support systems for women caregivers.

Provides basic information on providing care for an individual with cognitive and memory impairments, and the special challenges that this can pose. This website provides 10 steps that new caregivers can follow to ensure success in their responsibilities. Also provides information on preventing caregiver burnout and locating caregiver resources.

Contains a lot of information on the common stresses and frustrations of caregiving. You can learn about the warning signs of frustration and strategies for calming down when feeling stressed. This site also discusses effective communication skills and advice on asking others for help in your caregiving responsibilities.

Discusses the many challenges that a caregiver or a family member of a person who has Alzheimer’s might face. This link provides tips for being better prepared for the role as a caregiver, gives information on caregiver education programs, and suggests strategies for managing your own health while performing your caregiving duties.

This website describes what you should expect as a caregiver of someone who has recently undergone a bone marrow transplant. This link discusses what you may need to meet your own needs and how others may help in caregiving responsibilities.

The American Cancer Society provides tips on how to care for a loved one who is going through chemotherapy.

This resource from the American Cancer Society will help give you tips on how to help care for a loved one having cancer surgery.

This link is provided by the ALS Association, and gives helpful tips and hints for a caregiver of someone with ALS, or Lou Gehrig’s disease. This site covers topics such as taking care of yourself, managing your stress, educating yourself, and how to get in touch with other caregivers. This website also offers information on utilizing state and federal caregiver assistance programs.

This website by the ALS Association provides facts and statistics about family caregivers. The statistics are updated regularly and are compiled by the National Family Caregivers Association. A link to educational “webinars” can also be found on this website.

The National MS Society provides helpful links as well as a detailed guide for caregivers of those with MS patients.

Provides information on how to care for someone with Parkinson's Disease.

Discusses some of the common concerns that caregivers and family members of a stroke survivor may have. This link also has information about making the transition from hospital to home easier for your loved one. In addition, this site outlines some of the resources the National Stroke Association has to offer caregivers of stroke survivors.