Research Guides: VCU Health Residents & Fellows: Home

Clinical Tools

UpToDate
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Point-of-care collection of evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and management of medical conditions. Also includes drug information.
VisualDx
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Clinical decision support system that allows validation of a medical diagnosis based on visual conditions. Contains medical images detailing variation in age, stage, and skin type.
AccessMedicine
Access to McGraw-Hill medical textbooks including Harrison's Online. Contains multimedia library with case files, safety modules, procedural videos, diagnosis and self-assessment tools, patient handouts, an integrated drug database, and more.

Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5

PubMed (MEDLINE)
The primary database for biomedical and health sciences literature. Identify full-text online journals and remote access available through VCU Libraries using the VCU Libraries "Get It @ VCU" icon. Limit by topic, publication type, date of publication, human or animal study, age group, and more. Store searches and set up alerts using PubMed’s MyNCBI Service.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Database of systematic reviews on healthcare topics. Also contains CENTRAL, a registry of controlled trials.
Google Scholar
A simple way to conduct a broad search of scholarly literature indexed by Google. Results are ranked by journal impact factor, author, and number of citations.
TRIP Database
A free clinical search engine meant to help clinicians identify the best available evidence with which to answer clinical questions.

Medicine Research Guide
Additional information resources for general medicine and specialties, including anesthesiology, dermatology, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery.
User's Guide to the Medical Literature
Handbook for how to critically read research articles.
NatMed Pro
Peer-reviewed information on complementary and alternative medicine treatments.

AccessAnesthesiology
Online resource that includes leading clinical textbooks in anesthesiology, procedural videos, clinical guidelines, self-assessment Q&A, and an interactive drug database with search and customizable curriculum functionality.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
AccessEmergencyMedicine
Comprehensive search tool for quick diagnosis and treatment for a broad range of emergency cases. Includes emergency medicine textbooks, procedural videos, self-assessment tools, an integrated drug database, patient handouts, and clerkship resources.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5
AccessPharmacy
Access to leading pharmacy textbooks, an extensive multimedia library, care plans, self-assessment tools, case files, a drug and supplement information database, and more.
AccessSurgery
Resource for surgical education including textbooks, videos, drug information, and board review questions.
Maximum Simultaneous Users: 5

Access to VCU Libraries resources on and off-campus requires a VCU eID and password.

Follow these steps to claim your eID and password:

If you encounter any issues with this process, contact VCU Tech Services at (804) 828-2227.