Center for Applied Logistics: Culture Profilesulture profiles provide short introductions to the history and the cultural background of refugee populations and are a valuable resource for service providers, employers, educators, and others interested in learning more about other cultures.
Cultural Competence in Health by Crystal Jongen; Janya McCalman; Roxanne Bainbridge; Anton CliffordThis resource supports evidence-informed approaches to improving the cultural competence of health service delivery. By reviewing the evidence from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the US, it provides readers with a clear and systematic overview of the interventions and indicators applied to enable health system agencies and professionals to work effectively in various cross-cultural health care situations. The book highlights the importance of cultural competence and describes the current situation in the studied countries; identifies effective approaches and strategies for improving the situation; reviews the indicators for measuring progress; assesses the health outcomes associated with cultural competence; summarizes the quality of the evidence; and presents an evidence-informed conceptual framework for cultural competence in health. Cultural competence is critical to reducing health disparities and has become a popular concept in these countries for improving access to high-quality, respectful and responsive health care. This book provides policy makers, health practitioners, researchers and students with a much needed summary of what works to improve health systems, services and practice.
Call Number: Online / E-book
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Rachel E. SpectorFor courses in Community/Public Health Nursing, Transcultural Nursing, and CEUs. Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds The ninth edition of Cultural Diversity in Health and Wellness examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health care system, consumers, and examples of traditional health beliefs and practices among selected populations. An essential for any health-care professional, this book sets the standard for cultural perspectives and more importantly HEALTH--the balance of the person, both within one's being--physical, mental, and spiritual--and in the outside world--natural, communal, and metaphysical. (Terms such as HEALTH are written this way to emphasize holistic meaning.) An emphasis on the influences of recent social, political, and demographic changes helps to explore the issues and perceptions of health and illness today, while introductory and capstone chapters help place material within perspective.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RA418.5.T73 S64 2017
Transcultural Nursing by Joyce Newman GigerGet up to speed on how to properly assess the care needs of today's culturally diverse clientele with Transcultural Nursing: Assessment & Intervention, 7th Edition. Centering on Giger's unique transcultural model of clear, easy-to-apply assessment and intervention strategies for the clinical setting, this one-of-a-kind resource will help you learn to identify the six key cultural phenomena used in caring for clients from different backgrounds (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biological variations), and show you how to apply these phenomena to a variety of individuals in different cultures. UNIQUE! Giger & Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model devotes a full chapter to each of the six aspects of cultural assessment (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biologic variations) to help readers apply this model to any client of any culture - even those not covered in the text. 2010 census data is incorporated through the book to provide the most current analysis of demographic trends. UNIQUE! Sample care plans demonstrate how to apply principles to specific client needs. UNIQUE! Discussion of the spiritual component provides a more holistic, integrated approach to culture and assessment. Case studies and critical thinking questions help readers apply the assessment framework in practice. Clarification of biologic variations for select cultural groups raises readers' awareness of potential risks/influences on client health. NEW! Completely revised cultural chapters reflect the shifting experiences of various cultural groups in our society.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library General Collection RT86.54 .T73 2017
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by Gloria Kersey-MatusiakNewly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Call Number: Online / E-book
Cultural Competencies for Nurses by Linda Dayer-BerensonBy compiling the history and theory behind cultural competency in nursing and health care, this text offers key information regarding health beliefs and the impact of culture on health and illness. This new edition contains an overview of the predominant cultural competency nursing theories, impact of diversity on health disparities, information on the health beliefs of several minority groups, and case studies to enhance student learning. This text is an excellent resource for courses that emphasize health promotion and disease prevention.
Call Number: Online / E book
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models by Priscilla SagarTranscultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration is a must read for the nurse currently practicing. National and global changes in demographics, a changing global economy, have further dramatized the need for culturally competent nurses. I found this book to be what I had hoped for and more related to my understanding of the concept of transcultural nursing (TCN)....I would highly recommend this book to any nurse who is looking to deepen her understanding of the many diverse cultures she encounters at the bedside, or out in the community using components of the theory, models and assessment guide presented in this book."--Advance for Nurses This book makes a worthwhile contribution to the field of transcultural nursing by complementing texts that introduce theory and models or delve into them individually and more deeply. Sagar contributes her expertise as a Transcultural Nursing Scholar by focusing on how to use the models and guide. She explains and shows the reader how transcultural nursing theory can be disseminated and implemented."--Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and Healthcare This volume is the first to examine and promote the application of current, major transcultural nursing (TCN) theory and models and assessment tools in nursing education, practice, and administration. As a comprehensive text for master's and bachelor's level nursing students, it features case studies, care plans, initial role playing exercises, and implications of TCN concepts when planning, implementing and evaluating client care.TCN Theory, Models, and Assessment Guide Discussed: Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality Purnell's Model for Cultural Competence Campinha-Bacote's Biblically Based Model of Cultural Competence Giger and Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model Spector's Health Traditions Model Andrews and Boyle's Transcultural Nursing Assessment Guide for Individuals and Families Key Features: Reviews one theory and four major TCN models plus one TCN assessment guide Provides assessment tools, case studies, and role playing exercises Discusses implications of TCN concepts for planning, implementing and evaluating client care Reviews TCN in an international context Offers NCLEX-type test questions and answers in each section Fulfills AACN content guidelines for cultural competency
Call Number: Online / E-book
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Transcultural concepts in nursing care by Margaret M. Andrews, Joyceen S. Boyle
Call Number: Health Sciences Library RT86.54 .A53 2008 Normal Loan
Transcultural Nursing Education Strategies by Priscilla Limbo SagarThis comprehensive guide to integrating transcultural nursing education (TCN) strategies in academic and in-service institutions is the only text to fulfill the NLN and AACN mandates for promoting cultural diversity and competencies in these settings. Incorporating evidence-based, best-practice protocols, it provides course syllabi and a wealth of additional teaching aids for all education arenas from foundation classes through in-service domains.
Call Number: Online / E-book
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Cultural competence : a lifelong journey to cultural proficiency by Ronnie Leavitt
Call Number: Health Sciences Library RA418.5.T73 C845 2010 Normal Loan
Seeing patients : unconscious bias in health care by White, Augustus A.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library RD27.35.W53 A3 2011