Research Guides: Healthcare Policy and Research: Articles & Databases

General Databases

Utilize these databases as a starting point for your research.

PubMed/MEDLINE
The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
more...less...
VCU access only
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Citations and abstracts to articles in more than 800 nursing, allied health and medical journals. Over 500 journals include the full-text articles. In addition, drug patient education sheets are available from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
more...less...
Coverage: 1975-present
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature crawled by Google.
more...less...
VCU access only

Law and Policy Databases

Below are links to important database for finding material about law and policy. The link to "VCU Research Guide for Health Law" will take you to a similar guide with internet resources for "Health Law".

VCU Health Law Research Guide
Librarian selected resources for the fastest way to locate resources for Health Law research and evidence based practice.
PAIS International
Abstracts from the international literature on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Includes PAIS Archive, 1915-1976.
more...less...
(1915 - present) VCU access only
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Archive of social science data for research and instruction. Includes data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Topical archives include health, aging, education, criminal justice, and substance abuse.
more...less...
(1962 - present) VCU access only

Business Organization Databases

These databases are mainly focused on Business Management and Administration. To find health related materials, it is important to integrate "health" into your search procedure.

ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts and many full-text articles on business, finance, management topics from business periodicals. Three parts: Global; Dateline; and Trade & Industry. Includes Wall Street Journal. Also includes dissertations.
more...less...
(1971 - present) VCU access only
Business Source Complete
Covers all areas of business with articles from news, trade, scholarly publications, and more.
Good for company, industry and country info
EconLit
The American Economics Association's bibliography of economic literature. Coverage includes journals, books, and dissertations.
more...less...
(1969 - present) VCU access only
referenceUSA
ReferenceUSA provides research on businesses including data summaries by neighborhood, city or state and by type or size of business. Users can conduct market research for similar or competitive businesses in a specific, regional area.
Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence including: Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays.