Medical information, treatment decision tools, news updates, and support resources are available here. Also read about survivors’ experiences, finding hope, and inspiring others. Información en español sobre el cáncer.
A national, community-based organization of volunteers, whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. A comprehensive source for cancer information. Includes the Canadian Cancer Encylopedia.
Use this site to learn more about cancer and about specific types of cancer, diagnosis, treatment, and coping. Also contains a medical illustrations gallery, medical dictionary resources, and links to financial resources.
A national non-profit organization whose mission is to provide free professional help to people with all cancers through counseling, education, information and referral and direct financial assistance. Free telephone counseling, fact sheets, e.g. “How to talk with your child about cancer.” Video and teleconferences may be accessed free.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) comprehensive listing of current information about clinical research studies. Contains a useful section explaining what clinical trials are and how they work.
An expansive list of reviewed topical Web sites from the National Library of Medicine that include interactive health tutorials, medical dictionaries, low-literacy resources, news and directories.
Includes information on types of cancer, treatment options, screening, prevention and patient support. Also provides links to PDQ (Physician Data Query – NCI database) and clinical trials.
Well-respected site. Covers types of cancers, treatment options and coping techniques plus financial issues for cancer patients, global resources and support groups.
A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing the most reliable, complete, and up-to-date information about breast cancer. Check out the Celebrity Talking Dictionary, which offers pronunciation and definitions of more than 500 medical terms encountered by breast cancer patients.
Information from the federal government about the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998. If you have had a mastectomy or expect to have one, you may be entitled to special rights under the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998 (WHCRA).
During and after treatment for colorectal cancer, a person may be able to speed up recovery and improve quality of life by taking an active role. Helpful advice from the American Cancer Society.
An expansive list of reviewed topical Web sites from the National Library of Medicine that include interactive health tutorials, medical dictionaries, low-literacy resources, news and directories.
An expansive list of reviewed topical Web sites from the National Library of Medicine that include interactive health tutorials, medical dictionaries, low-literacy resources, news and directories.
Chat