High Blood Pressure

The CDC explains how blood pressure medicines work and the benefits/risks of using them. There are also side effects and other ways to lower blood pressure listed.

MedlinePlus gives a summary of high blood pressure, what factors can cause it, and how blood pressure medicines work. Then, there is a list of resources related to blood pressure medications that provide more specific information.

This website provides information on how to manage high blood pressure. There are a variety of options given including changing lifestyle factors and taking medications.

This page provides summaries of the different kinds of drugs that can be used to treat high blood pressure.

This page by the CDC provides some guidelines on how to prevent high blood pressure.

This Mayo Clinic lists 10 lifestyle changes you can make to lower your blood pressure levels.

Medline plus gives general guidelines on managing blood pressure. There is information on when your blood pressure is a concern, how to check your blood pressure, and when to call a doctor.

On this page, the CDC provides guides on how to prevent high blood pressure, manage high blood pressure, and blood pressure medicines.

This page explains the importance of physical activity and its benefits. There are also activity guidelines given.

MyHealthfinder gives a general overview of physical activity and its health benefits. There are also tips on how to get started and to make it a habit.

This page contains a body mass index (BMI) chart with a link to a BMI calculator that helps determine if you are a healthy weight. There are health risks of being overweight or obese written as well.

Stress can have many negative effects on the body. This page provides information on how to manage stress to improve your mental and physical health.

This page provides more information about the causes of stress, its health effects, and the benefits of managing stress. There are also tips on how to manage stress in a healthy way.

The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute emphasizes the importance of sleep. It also includes a table with the recommended hours of sleep a day depending on your age.

Reasons why you should quit smoking and some advice to get started on the process.

This page provides information on the definition of stroke, how to know if you are at risk, and the signs of a stroke. There is also information on steps you can take to reduce your risk of one.

This page describes the harmfulness of smoking and the advantages of quitting smoking. It also lists resources that you can use for support.

This page provides tips for living with high blood pressure, including knowing what symptoms to be aware of in case of a heart attack or stroke.

DASH is an acronym for Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension. Read this page to learn about how the DASH diet works.

MedlinePlus gives advice on how to follow a low-salt diet, including tips like buying fresh food and avoiding MSG.

Quick tips on how to reduce your salt intake, including eating from home, checking labels, and more.

The AHA provides a list of low-salt foods and even lists spices that you can use as an alternative to salt.

This page provides a shopping list that you can follow to avoid high-sodium foods. It is broken down into the main food groups.

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism provides resources for those who need alcohol-related treatment. Search for programs and find more information on the effects of drinking.

Limiting your alcohol intake can lessen the chances of having high blood pressure. Read more about the benefits of limiting your alcohol consumption here.

This page lists foods that are healthy for the heart, as well as foods to avoid. Also provided, is a fact sheet with tips on how to reduce your salt intake.

Provides tips for eating healthy, which is one way to lessen the likelihood of high blood pressure.