Research Guides: Graphic Medicine for Patient Education: Books

VCU Libraries Search

Graphic Medicine Texts in the Collection

The following is a list of graphic novels or picture books available for checkout in the VCU Libraries collection. Each addresses a topic relevant to healthcare providers and their patients.

Use the search box at the top of this page to look for items that are not listed here.

Cancer Vixen by Marisa Acocella Marchetto
Call Number: James Branch Cabell Library General Collection PN6727.A27 C363 2006
ISBN: 9780307263575
Publication Date: 2006-09-26
In vivid color and with a taboo-breaking sense of humor, Marisa Acocella Marchetto tells the story of her eleven-month, ultimately triumphant bout with breast cancer--from diagnosis to cure, and every challenging step in between.
Marbles by Ellen Forney
Call Number: James Branch Cabell Library General Collection PN6727.F678 M37 2012
ISBN: 9781592407323
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Cartoonist Ellen Forney explores the relationship between "crazy" and "creative" in this graphic memoir of her bipolar disorder.
Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Call Number: James Branch Cabell Library General Collection PN6727.T294 S65 2010
ISBN: 9780545132053
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!
Stitches by David Small
Call Number: James Branch Cabell Library General Collection PS3569.M285 A3 2009
ISBN: 9780393068573
Publication Date: 2009-09-08
Small, a prize-winning children's author, re-creates a life story about experiencing complications from surgery for throat cancer.
Tangles by Sarah Leavitt
Call Number: James Branch Library General Collection RC523 .L43 2012
ISBN: 9781616086398
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
In this powerful memoir the the LA Times calls "moving, rigorous, and heartbreaking," Sarah Leavitt reveals how Alzheimer's disease transformed her mother, Midge, and her family forever.

Digital Comics

There are a number of "web comics" that are available for viewing through the Internet

Graphic Medicine: Web Comics Archives
The Graphic Medicine site has curated some of the most pertinent ones dealing with a variety of health-related issues.
Screendriver: Interactive Web Comics
A site for digital comics that incorporate animation, sound, and reader participation