Research Guides: COAR 341: Scientific Illustration: Images

Scientific Image Resources

Anatomy.TV
Interactive 3D models of human anatomy, including images of all bodily systems. Users may manipulate the images and view accompanying text, animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips, as well as take interactive quizzes.
Birds of the World
Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American breeding birds. Includes images and videos of plumage, behaviors, habitat, nest, and eggs. Contains songs and calls.
ARTstor
Now part of JSTOR, this image database features a range of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Collections have been contributed by leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.

Encyclopedia of Life
Online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. Tip: after searching for a species, click on 'Media' in the menu to limit to images.
Atlas of Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy
The majority of entries in this atlas were produced by students at SUNY Oneonta including dissection, photography, and identification.
Medical Images Research Guide
More resources for medical and scientific images, and guidance on copyright and citation.

Citing Database/Website Images in APA Style

Citing Database/Website Images in APA Style

References:
1. Artist Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title of the artwork [Format]. Title of the Website. URL (address of web site)
References (No Author):
1. Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created). Title of the Website. URL (address of web site)
References (No Author, No Title, No Date):
1. [Subject and type of work]. Title of the Website. URL (address of web site)

Database Examples:

Eickhoff D. Plumeria rubra [Photograph]. Encyclopedia of Life. https://eol.org/media/14005992

Langstroth L. & Langstroth L. (2005). Image of Clown anemonefish [Photograph]. Encyclopedia of Life. https://eol.org/media/8919546

Biodiversity Heritage Library. (2018). The botanic garden, Vol. 8 [Illustration]. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/biodivlibrary/39624416980/in/album-72157667760690338