The ELP librarian is happy to work with you on discovering and developing tutorials, worksheets or other applicable content for your University Skills classes. Please contact Teresa Doherty to let her know of your interest. We look forward to working with you!
Resources at Cabell Library
Cabell Library has many online and physical books to aid students in researching potential majors and careers and increasing their business vocabulary. A selection are linked below.
Revised and refreshed every year, this book is the most comprehensive guide to college majors on the market. In-depth descriptions of 201 of the most popular majors are followed by complete listings of every major offered at more than 3,800 colleges, including four-year and two-year colleges and technical schools.
Call Number: This is an ebook; click the link above for access.
Readers learn which majors are the best investment, the job and salary prospects for specific majors, the employment growth rates for particular majors, and how many graduates go on to additional education. Each chapter describes the major and the courses it requires; discusses jobs that graduates actually obtain; and gives information on employers, tasks, and salaries.
Call Number: Cabell Library General Collection (HF5549.5.T7 S24 2011)
This Handbook provides a state-of -the art overview of the field of workplace learning from a global perspective. The authors are all well-placed theoreticians, researchers, and practitioners in this burgeoning field , which cuts across higher education, vocational education and training, post-compulsory secondary schooling, and lifelong education. The volume provides a broad-based, yet incisive analysis of the range of theory, research, and practical developments in workplace learning. The SAGE Handbook of Workplace Learning draws together a wide range of views, theoretical dispositions, and assertions and provides a leading-edge presentation by key writers and researchers with insight into the field and its current state.
Based on the latest "Occupational Outlook Handbook" (the most widely used career book ever), this popular guidebook is deal for helping young people explore careers. It groups together related job descriptions, making it easy to study job options based on interests. The text stresses the connection between school subjects and future careers. Green occupations are included in the job descriptions. In addition, the extensive Web directory of online career resources has been completely updated.