Research Guides: Genetics: Home

We Recommend

Web of Science
Cross-search multiple databases including the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index, as well as Chemical Indexes.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) foremost biomedical and life sciences database. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

NCBI Global Search
Global cross-database NCBI search for all databases including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Genome, Taxonomy, BLAST, OMIM, PopSet, and others.

If you have not found what you are looking for in 10 minutes ... it's time to call us.

As your librarians, we provide many information based services for free, including:

Systematic Reviews - assistance with searching, citation management, and appraisal.
Expert Liberature Searches
Evidence Based Practice Searches
Citation Management assistance
and more.

We can also come to your office, lab or facutly meeting, or class to give presentations on:

Overview of NCBI Resources
One-sentence descriptions of main NCBI databases.
NCBI Resources
Longer list of NCBI databases and other resources with brief descriptions.
Database resources of the National Center for Biotechnology Information
Article with one-paragraph descriptions of each of the main NCBI databases. An updated article is published annually with information about changes to databases.