If you can't find the book that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.
Dissertations may be useful for finding criticism on newer authors or specialized topics, and the bibliographies of recent dissertations can often provide a wealth of new sources.
Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies resources are found widely across the collection, depending on what the focus of the topic is. One way to find scholarly monographs on your subject is simply to browse the shelves in the area of the library where related works are located. Because our library is organized by subject according to Library of Congress Classification, you will find related materials grouped together.
If you want to browse large areas of the shelves, you may wish to consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline. The "Class" links below provide greater description of some relevant classes. Monographs on these topics are on the 3rd and 4th floors of Cabell Library, but you can also browse for reference titles on the 1st floor.
Class E - History of the Americas
Class H - Social Sciences
Class P - Language and Literature
Reference books do not circulate outside of the library and are located on the 1st floor of Cabell Library.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by 
Encyclopedia of women’s autobiography by 
Encyclopedia of Women’s Folklore and Folklife by 
Men and masculinities : a social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia by 
The Greenwood encyclopedia of love, courtship, & sexuality through history by 
The Women’s Movement Today: an Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism by E-books can be found via the VCU Libraries catalog. Here are a couple resources that may be of particular use.
Google Books provides full-text access to many books in the public domain or out of copyright, and partial access to others.
Chat