VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Cite My Sources and Avoid Plagiarism

Ask Cabell Library

Ask Cabell Library's picture
Ask Cabell Library

Ask Us

Connecting in-text citations to bibliographies

So, the thing to remember is that citing is, basically, a 2-step process:

  1. Let your reader or listener know right away when you are quoting or paraphrasing someone else's work, usually with an in-text or parenthetical citation and sometimes with a number and footnote/endnote. These are like quick links to point the reader to the full citation in your...
  2. Works cited, references, or bibliography page--a list of all the sources you quoted or paraphrased in your project 

 

The following video includes examples of footnotes/endnotes and demonstrates how they're connected to your bibliography. 

Works Cited, References, or Bibliography page

Here are three examples of bibliographies in different citation styles (click each thumbnail to enlarge the image). You can tell there are small differences between each one, but all three provide enough information to help the reader locate the original source. 

When you are ready to tackle this all-important part of your project, be sure to visit the citation styles guide for help getting it right.

chat loading...

Annotated bibliography

Sometimes your professor will ask you to create an annotated bibliography as a project or to prepare for a big research paper. This is similar to a works cited page but with additional information describing each source and explaining why you chose to cite it.

Watch this video (2 min.) for more details:

Citing sources in a speech

Do you have to cite sources in a speech? Short answer...yes. Here is a really short example of how that sounds: