VCU Libraries

Research Guides

Find Local News & Data Resources

Special Collections and Archives at James Branch Cabell Library

Special Collections and Archives at James Branch Cabell Library houses rare and unique materials that document the history of twentieth century Richmond. The archives of VCU and the Richmond Professional Institute (RPI) are also housed here.

Location: 4th Floor of Cabell Library
Hours: Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
(804) 828-8837
libjbcsca@vcu.edu

Special Collections and Archives at Tompkins-McCaw Library

Special Collections and Archives at Tompkins-McCaw Library houses archives, artifacts, books, manuscripts, photographs, portraits and prints related to the history of health care in Virginia. The archives for the Medical College of Virginia campus of Virginia Commonwealth University are also housed here.

Location: 1st floor of Tompkins-McCaw Library
Hours: Monday - Friday 9 a.m. to 4 p.nm.
(804) 828-9898
libtmlsca@vcu.edu

General Policies

All materials must be viewed in the reading room.

Materials must be handled with care. Food and drink are not permitted.

Pens are not permitted. Pencils only. Laptops are permitted.

Call slips must be filled-out for all materials requested.

Visit the Special Collections and Archives Websites or ask staff for additional information.

Finding Materials

Books in Special Collections through the search box from the Special Collections and Archives website. If you are using VCU Libraries Search, we recommend that you filter your search to Special Collections and Archives under "Library" . The books are shelved in closed stacks, but staff will retrieve books for you to view in the reading room. The items located in Special Collections and Archives  cannot be checked out.

Manuscript Collections include personal papers from individuals significant to local history and archival records from a variety of organizations in Richmond and Central Virginia. In addition to a variety of documents, manuscripts collections can also include materials such scrapbooks, photographs, posters, artifacts and a range of other items. Each manuscript collection has a corresponding guide, or finding aid, that provides information about its scope and contents.  The finding aids for manuscript collections held by VCU can be searched through the search box from the Special Collections and Archives website. Please make sure to click on finding aids. Please consult with Special Collections and Archives staff if you need any assistance using our materials. We would be happy to help you!

Examples of manuscript collections include:

University Archives include a variety of published and unpublished materials that document the history of the university. These include the records of departments and offices, as well as bulletins, course catalogs, and photographs. Search for books and publications OR finding aids for university records by using the search box on the Special Collections and Archives website. Make sure that the button is switched to the VCU Libraries Collection for books and publications, or finding aids for university records. The Commonwealth Times, VCU and MCV yearbooks, the VCU Oral History Archive, and other materials can be found in the VCU Libraries Digital Collection. Please contact Special Collections and Archives staff for assistance. 

Digital Collections

VCU Libraries Digital Collections are materials primarily from VCU Libraries' Special Collections and Archives, and range in subject matter from postcards of Richmond to medical artifacts. Digital collections are presented in a variety of formats, including images, text, video, and audio.

Examples include:

Exhibits

Special Collections and Archives at James Branch Cabell Library and Tompkins McCaw Library shares its holdings with the community through online exhibits and curated displays. 

 

Newspapers and Magazines

The Freeman File is an index to articles from the Richmond Times-Dispatch and the Richmond News-Leader covering the years 1920s-1980s. The index is on microfiche and can be used in Special Collections and Archives. Please ask a staff member for assistance.

A variety of local publications such as the Richmond Free Press, Style Weekly Magazine and Richmond Magazine are housed in Special Collections and Archives. Community and specialty publications such as the Richmond Pride, Our Own Community Press, Throttle, and Punchline, are also available.

Student newspapers and publications, such as the Atlas, Proscript, Commonwealth Times, Shafer Court Connections, VCU Today, and others are also housed in Special Collections and Archives.