Materials Research

Database that compiles, defines, and disseminates technical information on the distinct collection of terms, materials, and techniques used in the fields of art conservation and historic preservation.

Articles on activities and research in the V&A Conservation Department, including methods and materials.

Catalogs the physical materials in its collection. On-going work of the MRC includes uncovering new and innovative materials, cataloging the physical samples, and researching and inputting data regarding the specific extrinsic and intrinsic properties of these materials.

A design research lab at Parsons School of Design committed to raising awareness about toxics in building products and to creating resources for the next generation of designers and architects to make healthier places for all people to live.

Information and case studies about sustainable product design.

Innovative materials inspiration source.

The Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions.

ArchDaily | Product Search is ArchDaily's product database. It offers a range of building products by manufacturer, product type, and finish. ArchDaily describes each product's characteristics, colors, sizes, and applications. Some product descriptions also include BIM files.

Founded in Glasgow, Scotland, in 2020, Architextures has become the world’s most extensive digital materials library. As a digital introduction to the material world, Architextures enables our growing community of over 500,000 architects and designers to find, create, and download materials.

Architizer | Architectural Products is Architizer's product library, offering a database of materials and products searchable by brand and functional categories. Their site also includes news about material innovations and informational guides on products and specifications.

DesignBoom | Product Library is DesignBoom's product database, showcasing a range of products, including building materials, fabrics, flooring, and lighting. The database is searchable by product type, manufacturer, or designer. Each product includes descriptions and related information provided by the manufacturer.

Designer Pages is a product and material database that is searchable by health and sustainability standards, such as BIFMA level and Cradle to Cradle certifications. The site also syncs with Revit and assists with product specification writing.

MATERFAD is the Barcelona Materials Centre, created and driven by the Fostering Arts and Design (FAD). It serves as an observatory of the future, conducting research focused on innovation, sustainability, and creativity through materials. The website includes the center's events agenda and regularly updated news on materials. The resource is in Spanish.

MaterialDistrict, formerly Materia, is an international platform for innovative materials. The website offers a searchable database of materials and products, a collection of articles on material innovation, information on recent and future events, and a database of material product brands cross-referenced with the main material database.

A searchable database of material properties with data sheets and spec sheets supplied by manufacturers and distributors.

OpenMaterials is a research group dedicated to open investigation and experimentation with DIY production methods and uses of materials.

REMATERIALISE a unique, sustainable materials library and online resource, offering innovative material solutions which can have both economic benefits and less environmental impact. Explore an extensive range of materials from around the world, coming from many unexpected sources, including scallop shells, currency, mobile phones, airplane windscreens, and nettle fibers. (membership free)

Sweets product library is a building product database for the design and construction professional. The database offers comprehensive product information, CAD details, BIM objects, specs, catalogs, galleries, green product information, CEUs, etc. It is searchable by MasterFormat divisions.

Companion to Transmaterial books provides information about the latest innovative materials' uses, properties, and sources.