Mental Health

General information of the disorder including symptoms and treatment.

A disorder based on constant fears and worry during social situations. The site includes causes, symptoms, testing and treatment.

A disorder described by repeated feelings of dread for unknown reasons. The site includes causes, symptoms, testing and treatment.

A disorder known for uncontrollable feelings of worry and anxiety. The site includes causes, symptoms, testing and treatment.

The American Psychiatric Association is the leading psychiatric organization in the world. Patient resources include learning about common mental disorders, including symptoms, risk factors and treatment options. Find answers to your questions written by leading psychiatrists, stories from people living with mental illness and links to additional resources.

NAMI is a nonprofit, grassroots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of consumers, families, and friends of people with severe mental illnesses. Includes information about severe mental illnesses and current research.

Basic information about bipolar disorder from the Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance. This group was established by patients.

Provides a general overview of bipolar disorder.

An overview of depression and bipolar disorder including symptoms and management tips.

A mood disorder questionnaire with scoring sheet.

Information for teens about bipolar disorder.

This page contains an overview of depression symptoms, and types of depression.

Provides information about depression including symptoms, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment, and complications.

This site provides a depression self-assessment so that users can check to see if they have symptoms of depression.

A fact sheet from the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) on the use of St. John’s wort for depression.

An overview of depression written for teens.

This site contains an overview of postpartum depression and its symptoms, causes, and treatment.

This handout provides an overview of postpartum depression and its symptoms.

The Office on Women's Health is an extension of the US Dept. of Health and Human Services that provides information and patient materials on Postpartum Depression and related conditions.

Cleveland Clinic provides an easy to read resource for patients looking for facts, signs/symptoms, risks, and implications of Postpartum Depression.

Users of this site will find a variety of information about schizophrenia including: signs and symptoms, treatment, clinical trials, and statistics. There are also links to a booklet about schizophrenia and news and research articles.

This global health program aimed at fighting stigma and discrimination information in a variety of languages provides information about schizophrenia for professionals and families and friends of patients with schizophrenia.

This informational handout provides an overview of schizophrenia and its symptoms.

An overview of substance abuse and mental illness resources. Understanding the risks, research statistics, and treatment locators.

DBHDS provides substance abuse and addiction resources for patients specifically in the state of Virginia.

SAARA is also a resource for those in need of support for substance use or abuse in the state of Virginia.