Museum Studies

From the Frick Collection - a resource for locating primary source material about American art collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.

From Stanford University, CoOL is a full-text library of conservation literature for libraries, archives, and museums.

The Web portal for the J. Paul Getty Trust provides a gateway to a wealth of information for museum studies-related research.

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

The Museum Studies Bibliographies indexes more than 1,200 articles, theses, and conference proceedings dealing specifically with the role, function, history, philosophy, nature, and structure of museums.

PACIN's website provides a forum for an exchange of ideas related to methods and techniques and materials used for packing and transporting works of art and museum artifacts.

A resource from the Getty Conservation Institute to aid in the study of non-digital photography and its techniques. Intended to help formulate questions and interpret analytical data.

An exhibit design firm founded by a VCUarts alum that provides development, design, research and writing to museums, vistor centers, corporations and other public and private institutions.

As part of the Workplace Inclusion to Support Museum Decolonization project, Museum staff members and trustees share how they engage in learning sessions around anti-racism and the effect of acculturation and in cultural competency assessments.

This spelunker isn't about looking at art (although installation photography shows how the exhibitions looked). Discover curators, arrangers, designers, artists and others who've created exhibitions since MoMA opened in 1929.

AAM sets the standards and best practice guidelines for museums in America.

AASLH serves professionals and volunteers who preserve and interpret state and local history across the United States.

The AAMD site contains a valuable resource in its insights into museum operations and how leaders of art museums deal with sensitive topics, such as Nazi-looted art, sacred objects, and corporate sponsorship.

ASTC is an international organization of science-technology centers, science museums, nature centers, aquariums, planetariums, zoos, botanical gardens, space theaters, and natural history and children’s museums.

ICOM is an international organization for more than 21,000 museums and museum professionals.

The mission of IMLS is to inspire libraries and museums to advance innovation, lifelong learning, and cultural and civic engagement. It is an independent agency of the United States federal government.