Research Guides: Nonprofit Research: Additional Databases

Finding Scholarly Articles

Refereed, scholarly, and peer-reviewed are often used interchangeably to mean credible sources rigorously reviewed before publication. These short videos will help you determine (1) whether the publication itself is scholarly; and (2) the type of scholarly article in that publication.

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly (3:44)
Scholarly Article Types (3:27)

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers can be a rich source of information about current topics and issues of interest to the nonprofit world.

Access World News
Also known as NewsBank, provides access to major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles, blogs, and more. Historical and current content, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive from 1903 to present.
Dow Jones Factiva
Click on News Pages to view the last two weeks of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Washington Post. Use Search to find older articles or articles from publications around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text for more than 130 national and international newspapers, including New York Times, Washington Post, Times (London). (EBSCO)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
Full image of articles published in The New York Times including illustrations and advertisements. Covers from the first issue in 1851 to three years prior to the current year.

Nonprofit Research

Finding Scholarly Articles

Newspaper Databases

More Article Databases