Research Guides: PADM 623: Research Methods for Government and Public Affairs: Research Proposal

Starting Points

When thinking about your research project, it is helpful to think about your possible topics in a logical manner. Open Sage Research Methods (linked below). Click on the link for Design a Research Project. Notice that on the left side of the page, there are linear steps to help you develop and define a topic.

SAGE Research Methods
Research methods tool providing access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, datasets, and videos about research methods, designing research projects, conducting research, writing up findings, and more.

Datasets and Variables

Studying other researcher's datasets might help you to narrow your variables. Asking the right question gets you the right answer!

ICPSR Datasets
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of behavioral and social science research data.

iPOLL (Roper Center)
Extensive archive of public opinion information with questions and answers from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as Gallup, CNN, Pew Research Associates, the Wall Street Journal, and others.

The Literature Review

Now that you have a reasonable topic that can be covered in your time/page/research allotment, you need to conduct a literature review. Lit reviews are a discussion of where the current literature stands on a topic - include all angles possible to get the most coverage. Instead of searching for "benefits", search for a more neutral term, like "outcomes" or "impacts".

Public Administration Abstracts
Covers public administration theory and methods, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, and public service personnel.
Political Science Complete
Covers comparative politics, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory. Full-text reference books, monographs, and conference papers.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Indexing, abstracts, and full text providing comprehensive coverage of topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts, providing bibliographic coverage of current research in social work, human services, and other areas.