If you can't find the book that you want at VCU, try these resources to find what you need.
Dissertations may be useful for finding criticism on newer authors or specialized topics, and the bibliographies of recent dissertations can often provide a wealth of new sources.
One way to find scholarly monographs or collections of essays about philosophy is to go to the shelf in the relevant area of the library where the author's works are located. Because our library is organized by subject according to Library of Congress Classification, you may find related materials in other areas (literature, law, etc.). Most materials having to do with Philosophy are class B, and they are located on the 1st floor of Cabell. Here's the general outline of B:
B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative philosophy
BF Psychology
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics
BL Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS The Bible
BT Doctrinal Theology
BV Practical Theology
BX Christian Denominations
These print and online works may be useful in seeking out definitions or introductory historical material about philosophy.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by 
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by 
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy by 
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by 
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy by 
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by 
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion by 
Writing Philosophy Papers by E-books can be found via the VCU Libraries Search. Here are a couple resources that may be of particular use.
Google Books provides full-text access to many books in the public domain or out of copyright, and partial access to others.
Chat