Research Guides: Political Science: American Government

Major Databases

Political Science Complete
Covers comparative politics, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory. Full-text reference books, monographs, and conference papers.
Archive of Americana
Combined interface for searching Early American Imprints I & II (1639-1819), American State Papers (1789-1838), and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980).
Social Sciences Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles from applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Covers anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies disciplines.
JSTOR
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end typically 3 - 6 years prior to the current date).
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Indexing, abstracts, and full text providing comprehensive coverage of topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Public Administration Abstracts
Covers public administration theory and methods, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, and public service personnel.

Government Websites

USA.gov
Portal to a vast array of online information from government agencies.
White House
Information about the executive branch and current government issues.
Public Papers of the Presidents
Public writings, addresses, and remarks as published in the Federal Register for presidents from Reagan through Obama.
Supreme Court
Information on opinions, decisions, and the judicial branch.
Senate
Website for the US Senate. Includes senator information, committee information, and legislation.
United States House of Representatives
Government website for the House of Representatives. Gives access to bills, U.S. Code, and Representative information.
ShareAmerica.gov
Platform for the Department of State to share images and stories about American culture, political system, economics, and more with people from other countries.
Virginia General Assembly and Legislative Information System
Legislative information from Virginia's General Assembly including bills and resolutions, Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code, Rules of the Supreme Court, and House and Senate Documents.
Government Printing Office
Access to a variety government printed documents including regulations, presidential documents, bills and laws, and court decisions.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.

Useful Websites

Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan 'fact tank' researching issues, attitudes, and trends that affect America and the world. Easily navigable site providing access to reports and data. Their reports are good examples of writing without taking a side.
Economic Policy Institute
Nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank that focuses on economic issues, especially as they affect low- and middle-income workers. Be sure to select the Resources tab.
Miller Center
Variety of resources including essays, transcripts, videos from the Miller Center, a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia specializing in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history
Roll Call
Very busy site with news scoops, commentary and policy briefings from Roll Call, the newspaper of Capitol Hill. Most content is free, but there is some that is available only to subscribers.
The Urban Institute
Research concerning the nation's social and economic problems and the government policies and public and private programs designed to alleviate them.
Stateline.org
Daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy. Focus is on four topics: fiscal and economic issues, health care, demographics, and the business of government.
National Governors' Association
Forum for governors to exchange views and experiences. Provides assistance in solving state-focused problems and information on state innovations and practices. Center for Best Practices includes documents, issue briefs, and policy statements.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Site features information on meetings and events of the NCSL, and research and analysis of state issues. Easy-to-use topic area links to NCSL activities, publications and research on various issues.
National Association of Counties
News, coverage of issues, and a county resource center, as well as demographics and other information relevant to county government from the National Association of Counties. Includes a list of all counties (select a Find a County from the About Counties menu near the top right of the screen).
National League of Cities
Resources for city government. Includes links to city websites, key facts and figures (Cities 101), and trends, as well as policy and legislative positions and news.
U.S. Conference of Mayors
Includes issues of U.S. Mayor newspaper, and information about programs sponsored by the USCM, including Best Practices of City Governments.
United Nations Online Network in Public Administration and Finance (UNPAN)
UNPAN promotes "the sharing of knowledge, experiences and best practices throughout the world in sound public policies, effective public administration and efficient civil services."