VCU authors receive a $250 discount on open access article publishing fees in American Chemical Society (ACS) hybrid open access journals, based on VCU's status as a subscribing institution. An additional discount of $500 is available if VCU authors are individual ACS members.
The total publishing fee amount varies based on which Creative Commons license authors select for their articles and whether authors make articles open access immediately upon publication or with a 12-month delay.
Open access article processing charges for all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines, and proceedings are covered by VIVA (Virginia's academic library consortium) from October 1, 2021 to December 31, 2024. However, books and book chapters are not included.
VCU's subscription to Cambridge University Press journals includes coverage of publishing fees for open access articles published in certain fully open access journals or subscription journals with an open access option (hybrid journals). This agreement is in place from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024. Please see the link below for the Cambridge UP open access waiver tool that provides a full list of eligible journals.
VCU's subscription to De Gruyter journals includes coverage of article processing charges for VCU-authored articles published in hybrid open access journals. Fully open access journals are not eligible for coverage.
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a peer-reviewed, open access journal platform for the humanities. OLH journals do not charge any author fees because their costs are covered by an international consortium of supporting institutions, including VCU Libraries.
Article processing charges for articles published in all PLOS journals, including the interdisciplinary journal PLOS ONE, are covered by VCU's institutional partnership with PLOS from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024.
The Community Action Publishing (CAP) model applies to the journals PLOS Biology, PLOS Medicine, and PLOS Sustainability and Transformation.
If at any time in the process, the quote of your expected fees does not reflect the institutional coverage, contact email@example.com to ensure that the system correctly waives your fees.
These instructions apply to the journals PLOS ONE, PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Digital Health, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Public Health, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLOS Pathogens, and PLOS Water.
Article processing charges for articles published in Rockefeller University Press (RUP) hybrid journals are covered by VIVA (Virginia's academic library consortium) from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023.
VCU's subscription to Royal Society of Chemistry journals includes coverage of article processing charges for up to 18 VCU authored articles published in hybrid open access journals each year. RSC classifies all of their journals as hybrid, except their fully open access journals (also called "gold open access journals") and Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP).
Fully open access journals are eligible for a 15% discount on article processing charges.
Fully open access journals (also called gold open access journals) are eligible for a 15% discount on article processing charges.
Article processing charges for fully open access Wiley journals and subscription journals with an open access option (hybrid journals) are covered by VIVA (Virginia’s academic library consortium) from January 1, 2022 to 2024.