VCU Libraries

Research Guides

VCU Libraries Publishing Fee Support

This guide provides information for VCU authors about journal publishing fee support.

Updates on Open Access Publishing Support

2020: The VCU Libraries Open Access Publishing Fund was decommissioned on May 15, 2020

2019: Hindawi discontinued its institutional membership program that provided free publishing for VCU authors.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Hillary Miller
she/her
Contact:
Cabell Library, 121-C
(804) 827-0462

American Chemical Society (ACS)

VCU authors receive a $250 discount on open access article publishing fees in American Chemical Society (ACS) hybrid open access journals, based on VCU's status as a subscribing institution. An additional discount of $500 is available if VCU authors are individual ACS members.

The total publishing fee amount varies based on which Creative Commons license authors select for their articles and whether authors make articles open access immediately upon publication or with a 12-month delay.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

Open access article processing charges for all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, magazines, and proceedings are covered by VIVA (Virginia's academic library consortium) from October 1, 2021 to December 31, 2024. However, books and book chapters are not included.

Author Instructions

  1. VCU author must be listed as the corresponding author, both in the submission system and in your manuscript.
  2. Corresponding authors must use their VCU email address and list Virginia Commonwealth University as their institutional affiliation.
  3. Upon acceptance of a manuscript for publication, corresponding authors will receive a link to the ACM Open Author eRights platform via email from the journal editor.
  4. Corresponding authors can select "Institutionally Paid Open Access / Permissions Release" from the available rights offerings.
  5. Upon selection of the ACM Open OA option, authors are asked to select their choice of Creative Commons license.
  6. Following submission of the eRights form, authors will receive email confirmation of the form's acceptance along with a copy for their records. 

De Gruyter

VCU's subscription to De Gruyter journals includes coverage of article processing charges for VCU-authored articles published in hybrid open access journals. Fully open access journals are not eligible for coverage.

Author Instructions

  1. VCU author must be listed as the corresponding author, both in the submission system and in your manuscript.
  2. Corresponding authors must use their VCU email address and list Virginia Commonwealth University as their institutional affiliation.
  3. Monitor your email inbox. Once your article has been accepted for publication, you should receive an email confirming that VCU will cover the APC. If you do not receive confirmation of this, or if you are asked to pay an APC, please contact Hilary Miller at hmiller5@vcu.edu.

Open Library of the Humanities

The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a peer-reviewed, open access journal platform for the humanities. OLH journals do not charge any author fees because their costs are covered by an international consortium of supporting institutions, including VCU Libraries.

Rockefeller University Press

Article processing charges for articles published in Rockefeller University Press (RUP) hybrid journals are covered by VIVA (Virginia's academic library consortium) from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023. 

Author Instructions

  1. Choose from one of RUP's three hybrid journals: Journal of Cell Biology (JCB), Journal of Experimental Medicine (JEM), and Journal of General Physiology (JGP). To qualify, the article must be accepted for publication between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2023.
  2. VCU author must be listed as the corresponding author, both in the submission system and in the manuscript. 
  3. Upon submission of manuscripts, corresponding authors will be asked to validate their institution; Virginia Commonwealth University must be indicated as the author's institution.
  4. Upon acceptance, articles will be published open access under a Creative Commons CC-BY license, directly deposited to PubMed Central (PMC) and subsequently to Europe PMC, and archived in LOCKSS/CLOCKSS and Portico.

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)

VCU's subscription to Royal Society of Chemistry journals includes coverage of article processing charges for up to 18 VCU authored articles published in hybrid open access journals each year. RSC classifies all of their journals as hybrid, except their fully open access journals and Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP). 

VCU authors are also eligible for a 15% discount on article processing charges for fully open access journals.

Author Instructions for Hybrid Journals

  1. VCU author must be listed as the corresponding author, both in the submission system and in the manuscript.
  2. Corresponding authors must use their VCU email address and list Virginia Commonwealth University as their institutional affiliation.
  3. When the article is accepted for publication, do not sign the standard publishing license. Instead, choose and sign either the CC BY or CC BY-NC open access license.

Author Instructions for Fully Open Access Journals

  1. VCU author must be listed as the corresponding author, both in the submission system and in your manuscript.
  2. Corresponding authors must use their VCU email address and list Virginia Commonwealth University as their institutional affiliation.

Some RSC fully open access journals have no article processing charges (APCs) or are currently waiving APCs. Please check individual journal websites to confirm that these APC waivers are still active:

Chemical Science
No APCs charged for publication.

Energy Advances
APCs are waived for all authors until mid-2024.

RSC Chemical Biology
APCs are waived for all authors until mid-2022.

Materials Advances
 APCs are waived for all authors until mid-2022.

Environmental Science: Atmospheres
APCs are waived for all authors until mid-2023.

Wiley

Article processing charges for fully open access Wiley journals and subscription journals with an open access option (hybrid journals) are covered by VIVA (Virginia’s academic library consortium) from January 1, 2022 to 2024.

VCU faculty (of any rank or type) and graduate students are eligible. To qualify, a VCU author must be listed as the corresponding author of a primary research or review article. If you have grant funds that can be used to cover publication costs, VIVA asks that you use these in lieu of requesting VIVA funds for your publication.

Author Instructions for Hybrid Journals

  1. Choose from one of Wiley's hybrid open access journals (subscription journals with an open access option). To qualify for coverage, manuscripts must be accepted for publication after January 1, 2021.
  2. Once your article is accepted, login to Wiley Author Services. Under "My Articles," look for your article and click "Manage Article." Look for a message confirming your eligibility and click "Select Open Access."
  3. If prompted, confirm your affiliation with Virginia Commonwealth University.
  4. When your request is approved, you will receive a confirmation email, and your article will be published open access under a Creative Commons license on Wiley Online Library. 

Author Instructions for Fully Open Access Journals

  1. Choose from one of Wiley's fully open access journals. To qualify for coverage, manuscripts must be submitted after January 1, 2021.
  2. When you submit your article to Wiley's manuscript submission system, look up and enter VCU’s account code when prompted. 
  3. When your request is approved, you will receive a confirmation email, and your article will be published open access under a Creative Commons license on Wiley Online Library.