Research Guides: Scientific Images: Image Databases

Digital Image Databases

Use digital image collections available through VCU Libraries to find high resolution images for educational
(teaching, study, and research) purposes.

AP Images
Millions of historical and contemporary news photographs with thousands more added daily. Includes a collection of graphics containing logos, maps, and timelines, as well as audio clips and news stories.
AccessMedicine
Images and videos from McGraw Hill textbooks
Anatomy.TV
Interactive 3D models of human anatomy, including images of all bodily systems.
Birds of the World
Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American breeding birds. Includes images and videos of plumage, behaviors, habitat, nest, and eggs. Contains songs and calls.
Index of Medieval Art
With works ranging from apostolic times to the 16th century, the Index of Medieval Art documents art found in a broadly-defined medieval context. This expansive archive contains images and full-text records.

SMART - Servier Medical ART

Material Connexion
Collection of innovative materials and processes. Resource for designers of all disciplines - industrial, furniture, packaging, graphics, fashion, interior design, landscape architecture, and transportation.
JSTOR
Contains digitized copies of complete runs of hundreds of scholarly journals, many of which contain illustrations and art reproductions. Select the "caption" feature (in the Advanced search) to limit your search to image captions.

PubMed Central (PMC) Images
Use the advanced search and the dropdown menu for Figure/Table Caption to locate images.

ScienceDirect
Portal to full-text journal articles and books, select "Advanced Search" for direct image search

VCU Libraries Digital Collections
An emerging collection of digitized images, text, video, and audio. Includes Rarely Seen Richmond, a collection of more than 600 postcard images of Richmond, and the Richmond Planning Slide Collection, with over 8,000 photographs of the city.

VisualDx
Licensed by the VCU Health System. Clinical decision support system that allows validation of a medical diagnosis based on visual conditions. Contains medical images detailing variation in age, stage, and skin type.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains Berg Fashion Library, which provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary text and image content on world dress and fashion. Includes e-books, reference works, images, and more.
ARTstor
Now part of JSTOR, this image database features a range of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Collections have been contributed by leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.
Vogue Archive
Image-rich primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history. It presents a portrait of its era through photographs, articles, and advertisements. Contains every page of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present.
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network)
Focusing on the areas and intersections of fashion, style, and commerce, WGSN provides a global view on trends in design. Its archive contains millions of images from the runways, the street, retail outlets, and design sketches.