Research Guides: SEDP 330: Survey of Special Education: Disability Research Paper Sources

Disabilities/Disorders/Conditions

MedlinePlus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Designed for laypeople, especially patients and their families. Covers more than 1000 diseases and disorders. Search for a disorder/condition, then select the result (usually the first one) that links to Health Topics. Each topic has an easy to use navigation system. Some topics will have a Statistics and Research section.
KidsHealth - For Parents - Diseases & Conditions
From the Nemours Center for Children's Health Media, part of the Nemours Foundation dedicated to improving children's health. The Parents section has information on a variety of diseases, defects, and conditions.
March of Dimes - Birth Defects & Other Health Conditions
Information aimed at parents of children who have a birth defect. Click on a condition for a summary of what the condition is and how it affects a child. Some factsheets are quite detailed.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5)
Used by practicing psychologists and psychiatrists to diagnose patients. Of particular interest may be this chapter on Neurodevelopmental Disorders in Section II.

Social Work Reference Center
Provides evidence-based information and current best practices. Includes clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules, and patient education information. Designed for social workers as they work with their clients. Select 'Diseases and Conditions' in the Browse list.

Educational/Instructional Implications

ERIC via ProQuest
Premier database for education research. Includes bibliographic records and select full-text for journal articles, curriculum materials, and more.
Education Research Complete
Comprehensive collection of full-text education journals covering health education, multilingual education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
APA PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts)
American Psychological Association database of abstracts for psychological literature. Includes journals, dissertations, reports, book chapters, and other scholarly documents.

Laws and regulations are in Special Ed Connection (link below). Select Stats/Regs to see links to public laws and federal regulations, e.g., IDEA, ADA.

Special Ed Connection
Special education-related case law, federal policy, statutes, and regulations. Tracks updates, changes, and trends in special education, including IDEA, FERPA, ADA, RTI, PBIS, transition services, early childhood, IEP best practices, and others.

Organizations

Professional Organizations:
Search Google using one or more of the following:

"special education" "professional association"

disabilities "professional association"

[name of condition] "professional association

Support Organizations:
Try either or both of the following

1. Look for a Resources or Organizations link at the MedlinePlus and KidsHealth sites listed above in the Disabilities/Disorders/Conditions box.

2. Construct a Google search like this: [name of condition] site:.org

After landing at an organization site, look for links such as About; What We Do; Mission Statement; History.