Find Substantive Sources

International weekly journal of science.

Newsmagazine of science devoted to the wonders, mysteries and challenges of modern science, written for the educated layperson.

Monthly science journal.

A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests. It chronicles the arts, history, sciences and popular culture of the times.

Focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics.

Bimonthly psychology journal.

Service magazine providing ideas and information on automobiles, home building, maintenance, boating, outdoor recreation, electronics and science.

Engineering, technology and science articles.

The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.

Business insight and information.

The official journal of Operations Research Society of South Africa (ORSSA); contains papers in the following categories: Development of New Theory, OR Success Stories, OR Case Studies, & OR Methodological Reviews.

Trade publication for fashion and merchandising.

News, information and jobs for college and university faculty and staff.

Covers child welfare topics.

Weekly education newspaper.

Topics include trends and best practices in nonprofits and foundations.

Covers human services and public assistance topics.

The Atlantic is best known as a source of in-depth articles for general audiences on current issues and trends in politics, business, tech, entertainment, health, education, gender issues, and national and global current events. Articles in the magazine often explore several points of view about a topic and reference a variety of useful sources including experts in relevant fields and research studies.

A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923 — each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Reporting and commentary on a wide range of social and political subjects and current events in addition to fiction and literature. Known for the “Harper’s Index,” a monthly list of provocative facts and statistics on a wide range of subjects.

An intellectual, semi-monthly magazine that promotes a conservative social and political perspective on a wide range of subjects.

A weekly magazine known for reporting and commentary on the arts, culture, politics and current events with a reputation for rigorous fact-checking. Although the magazine provides listings and reviews for cultural events in New York City, it reports on subjects of national and international interest.

BBC is a public broadcasting company from the UK that covers stories all over the world.

Named for the number of electors in the United States electoral college, FiveThirtyEight covers a variety of topics including science, politics, and world news.

Investigative journalism documentaries produced by PBS.

Online magazine of news, politics, and culture. Combines humor and insight in thoughtful analyses of current events and political news.

Known for its brief TED Talk speeches, this nonprofit covers a variety of topics in videos and articles.