Welcome to the African American Studies Guide, where you'll find resources to help you locate sources for research in this area.
These are useful places to start looking for articles in African American Studies.
- Black Studies Center
A digital core collection of primary and secondary sources in arts, history, literature, politics, and religion that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times. Includes International Index to Black Periodicals.
- America: History and Life
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Limited coverage 1954 - 1962).
Search here for scholarly/peer-reviewed articles from all subjects and disciplines.
If you've never used this before, take a moment to check it out!
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Digital archive of primary source collections from the "long" 19th century. Includes monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, diaries, letters, maps, statistics and more.
- VCU Libraries Citation Guide
A guide to citing sources using a variety of different citation styles, including such common formats as APA, Chicago, and MLA.
- Son of Citation Machine
Easy-to-use web form for generating MLA citations.
- RefWorks @ VCU
Entry point for RefWorks, online citation management software available free to VCU students, staff, faculty, and members of the VCU Alumni Association.
Cabell Library, 111-B
Call, email, chat, stop by, or meet me at a location of your choice.
Subjects:African American Studies
, Creative Writing
, Foreign Languages
, Gender Sexuality and Women's Studies
, Literary Criticism
, Mass Communications
, Religious Studies
, World Studie
Have a favorite online resource for African American Studies? Know of an excellent website in the field? If so, please feel free to let me know.