Research Guides: African American Studies: Videos, Images, & Archives

The HistoryMakers - The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection

This scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and the archive continues to grow.

Streaming Videos for African American Studies

Media Education Foundation
The Media Education Foundation (MEF) produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media
Race Studies Collection
Subset of MEF Videos with a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture
Ethnicity & Identity Documentaries Collection
From Kanopy - Includes over 900 streaming videos
The Language You Cry In
A sample from the Kanopy collection that searches for -and finds- meaningful links between the Gullah people of present-day Georgia back to 18th century Sierra Leone.

Video Series

Black America Since MLK: And Still I Rise Series
These 4 videos look at the last five decades of African American history through the eyes of Henry Louis Gates, Jr., exploring the tremendous gains and persistent challenges of these years. Drawing on eyewitness accounts, scholarly analysis and rare archival footage, the series illuminates our recent past, while raising urgent questions about the future of the African American community--and our nation as a whole.
The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross
Written and presented by Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr., director of W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research at Harvard University, this six-hour series explores the evolution of the African-American people, as well as the multiplicity of cultural institutions, political strategies, and religious and social perspectives they developed -- forging their own history, culture and society against unimaginable odds.
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
Told through the eyes of those who experienced it, this definitive four-part series documents a brutal and oppressive era rooted in the growing refusal of many Southern states to grant slaves freed in the Civil War equal rights with whites
Unnatural Causes
A medical detective story out to solve the mystery of what's stalking and killing us before our time, especially those of us who are less affluent and darker-skinned. But its investigators keep peeling back the onion, broadening their inquiry beyond the immediate, physical causes of death to the deeper, underlying causes that lurk in our neighborhoods, our jobs and even back in history.

African American Studies

Search for videos

Find Images

The HistoryMakers - The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection

Streaming Videos for African American Studies

Archives