Many historians use newspaper articles as primary sources for their research. They often provide eyewitness testimony for events that have not been otherwise documented.
Black Studies Center is a digital core collection of primary and secondary sources in arts, history, literature, politics, and religion that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times.
Full-text database of major articles published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865, from three contemporary newspapers: The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Inquirer.
Searchable scanned images of all pages of Harper's Weekly, the leading illustrated newspaper of its time. All articles, illustrations, advertisements, and literary offerings are indexed.
Also known as NewsBank, provides access to major national and international newspapers, local and regional titles, blogs, and more. Historical and current content, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch archive from 1903 to present.
Use this link to register for a free account. Important source of reporting information, and opinion on politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. See ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index for issues back to 1851.
Full text for major national and international newspapers, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Times (London). Also includes full-text radio and television news transcripts.
Full-text database of the Pennsylvania Gazette, a premier newspaper published during the colonial, Revolutionary, and early national periods. Includes text for important documents printed in the Gazette, such as "Common Sense."
From the Library of Virginia, an online version of print card catalogs which index selected library and archival collections. The Newspaper and Periodical Indexes include The Magazine Index to Selected articles on Virginia 1900-1985 and an index to the Richmond Times Dispatch and News Leader 1940-1985.
Chat