Research Guides: Dietetics and Nutrition: Home

Databases

PubMed/MEDLINE The primary database of information in biomedical and health sciences fields.
CINAHL Coverage: (1937 - present) Expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with full text for over 600 journals, plus evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more than 200 books.
Embase Biomedicine and pharmacology citation database (1974 - present) with an international scope. Recommended for use in systematic reviews, and for finding drug and medical device information
Web of Science Multidisciplinary database that is a good place to search for basic science journal articles. Includes citations for conference proceedings as well.
GLOBAL HEALTH on CAB Direct Special public health database with literature on a global scale from both the developed and developing world.
Cochrane Library Database of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) Options for accessing the National Agricultural Library's comprehensive source of bibliographic citations covering all aspects of agricultural sciences, botany, ecology and related areas.
PsycINFO APA database of Psychology and Psychiatry literature
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database The TRIP Database performs a simple search in more than 60 databases related to evidence-based resources, allowing rapid identification of the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. You can easily restrict your search to a given level of evidence in the hierarchy.
ECRI Guidelines Trust™ This resource provides access to clinical practice guideline briefs and scorecards that provide ratings as to how the guidelines meet the Institute of Medicine (IOM) standards for trustworthiness. The ECRI is the organization that assisted the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality’s (AHRQ) in maintaining the National Guidelines Clearinghouse before it was shut down.
Google Scholar Scholarly literature crawled by Google.

Library Orientation:Health Sciences Library

Library Orientation:Health Sciences Library Research Guide

VCU Journal Search

Looking for a particular journal? Want to see if the library has a subscription--electronic or print? Use the VCU Journal Search.

Useful Journals

Spring 2024 - Webinars - Click on Dates to Register

Getting Started
with Zotero
Sun day, Feb. 25
7 :30 to 8:30 p.m.
OR
Wednesday, Feb. 28
11 a.m. to noon
OR
Friday, March 22
Noon to 1 p.m.

PubMed & CINAHL:
Basics of Doing a Good Search

Sunday, Feb. 18
7:30 to 8:30 p.m.

Covidence

Thursday, April 11
Noon to 1 p.m.

PubMed: Searching the Biomedical Literature

Mendeley Basics
Monday, Feb. 26
11 a.m. to Noon

Finding Health Statistics Online
Tuesday, Feb. 13
11 a.m. to Noon

How to Find and Appraise
Secondary Data
Thursday, Feb. 15
11 a.m. to Noon

Supercharge Your
Research Impact
for the Health Sciences
Tuesday, March 12
Noon to 1 p.m.

Finding Science and Medical Images
Wednesday, March 14
Noon to 1 p.m.

Searching OVID:
MEDLINE & Embase
Tuesday, March 19
Noon to 1 p.m.

Researching Social Identity and Health: Racism & Health

and LGBTQ+ Health Guides
Wednesday, March 27
Noon to 1 p.m.

Registration is required.

After registering participants will receive the Zoom URL via email.

Access Webinar Recordings via Kaltura via the VCU Media Space.

Spring 2024 Health Sciences Webinars

Dietetics and Nutrition

eID and Password

Handout

Useful Documents

Research and Education Librarian

Databases

Library Orientation:Health Sciences Library

VCU Journal Search

Useful Journals

Spring 2024 - Webinars - Click on Dates to Register